Leonard Cohen: I'm Your Man Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 23, 2009
Filmmaker Lian Lunson uses a 2005 Sydney tribute concert to Leonard Cohen as a home base for her relatively shallow examination of the best folk singer to slit your wrists to.
June 21, 2007
They really dropped the ball on this one - despite unfettered access to L.C. himself, you get a rambling interview interspersed with what for the most part are poor cover versions of the man's songs.
December 30, 2006
Hit and miss tribute to the great melancholist.
October 27, 2006
It's not a deep documentary. We learn precious little about the real man underneath his sharp-dressed pose.
September 8, 2006
Cohen fans -- myself included -- will leave the film's interviews wanting more insight. Moviegoers unfamiliar with Cohen's long career will wonder why he warrants gushing testimonials from U2's Bono.
August 7, 2006
Even if Cohen is your man, is this your movie? ... Despite Lunson's reverent efforts, I'm Your Man isn't The Last Waltz.
July 19, 2006
Wouldn't $10 be more wisely spent on his greatest hits?
July 14, 2006
We hardly get to know Cohen from the biographical shorthand melded to a worshipful tribute show in which the Canadian singer-songwriter never even appears.
July 14, 2006
A tribute concert with earnest but mostly average performances gussied up with fawning if passionate praise from admirers and occasional bits of self-deprecation from Cohen himself.
July 13, 2006
Mr. Cohen is funny and charming while being brilliantly observant, so it's especially frustrating that this film about him is so reverent and humorless.
July 13, 2006
Bloodless where it should be bold, precious where it should be perceptive and irritating where it should be inspiring.
July 13, 2006
It's an incompetent mess.
June 30, 2006
Cohen frequently isn't talking -- the subject too often goes missing from his own portrait.
June 24, 2006
...if you like the man and his music, then I've got a concert documentary for you.
June 23, 2006
A well-meaning but ultimately unsatisfying film.
June 23, 2006
Offering both too little material and too much, the movie leaves us in the bizarre position of understanding its subject no better by the end than we did at the beginning.
June 22, 2006
a frustrating mess, redeemed intermittently by a few solid musical performances and by the towering, erudite presence of Cohen himself.
June 22, 2006
If you're going to make a documentary about Leonard Cohen, the singer-songwriter, you should have him perform some of his better-known melodies, like Suzanne.
June 20, 2006
A lulling, reverential salute.
June 20, 2006
[A] rather grating hagiography.
Page 1 of 2