Les MisÚrables - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Les MisÚrables Reviews

Page 1 of 12
April 15, 2016
Tom Hooper, what have you done?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
June 10, 2016
(Director Tom) Hooper...cribs from musicals ranging from Oliver! to Cabaret to Disney's The Hunchback of Notre Dame. He misses the energy of those films, and doesn't accomplish the immediacy of Les Miz's stage incarnation.
Full Review | Original Score: 3 of 5
February 6, 2014
Everybody curse Tom Hooper! Everybody feel the gloom! Everybody give thumbs down to the Master of the Zoom!
Full Review | Original Score: C-
May 13, 2013
This "Miz" ain't nothin' but a miss.
Full Review | Original Score: D
April 3, 2013
Any heart, any familiarity in LES MISERABLES is due solely to the actors, and remains in spite of Hooper's best efforts.
January 8, 2013
By the time Amanda Sieyfried and Eddie Redmayne were warbling a love song at each other within seconds of meeting, I was ready to give in to my bladder.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 20, 2012
A musical with overwhelming theatricality trusted to a cast at best sporadically capable of performing their parts on the multiple levels necessary to actually do their jobs right.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
December 30, 2012
Breaks a record for climbing to the apex of movie musicals. Unfortunately, it's done within the first hour of proceedings and the slide back to the bottom is a laborious walk through the famous stage musical's song book.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 7, 2012
One would be hard-pressed to describe this, despite the wealth of beauty on display, as anything but an ugly film, shot and cut ineptly.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
December 31, 2012
Overstuffed, dreary and dripping with sickening sentimentality, what starts promisingly soon becomes a two-and-a-half hour struggle to stay awake.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 12, 2013
This is a Sing-A-Long Review. Press play on the backing track to "I dreamed a dream" before reading.
January 7, 2013
It could have worked if Hooper had taken a bold strimmer to the structure. Instead, this Les Mis feels as dogmatic as Javert, and as cheesy as old brie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 11, 2013
It made me bad-tempered for two days, a personal record.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 10, 2013
Les MisÚrables? More like Meh Misery-blah-blah.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 17, 2012
Director Tom Hooper piles one terrible decision upon another, with the result being a movie so overbearingly maudlin and distorted that it's one of 2012's most excruciating film experiences.
December 20, 2012
I didn't like it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 4, 2013
Hugh Jackman and Anne Hathaway provide some winning musical moments, but overall Tom Hooper's film version is lumbering and drab.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 22, 2012
While there's some value in making a slavish adaptation of a near-universally beloved stage musical, sticking to all the trappings of the play is a sure path to making the film feel like a translation rather than a similarly inspired production.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 15, 2012
I feel like one of those reality show judges, sadly grimacing as I deliver the news. Audience boos me. How could I not like this? After all, everybody's TRYING SO HARD!!!!
December 10, 2012
After Hathaway's early high point, it starts to feel numbing ...
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Page 1 of 12