Let Me In - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Let Me In Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Scott Weinberg
TheHorrorShow
August 26, 2015
You won't find a much bigger fan of the original film than yours truly -- and still I was very impressed by this crafty remake.
Noah Lee
Film Threat
October 14, 2014
Matt Reeves has succeeded in presenting the story in a thoughtful, respectful manner, while still Americanizing the Swedish text.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jay Stone
Canada.com
October 14, 2014
This is a story about two isolated kids making friends in a cold world. Those drops of blood in the snow could have come from anywhere.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Michael Smith
Tulsa World
October 14, 2014
The film is this year's best horror due to Smit-McPhee and Moretz displaying a vulnerability and a skill in characterization that belies their tender ages.
Paul Byrnes
Sydney Morning Herald
October 14, 2014
As far as remakes go, this is a pretty good one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
Newsday
October 7, 2013
Let Me In is one of the few horror films that will trouble you long after the credits roll.
Melissa Leong
National Post
October 7, 2013
This version follows the plot and dialogue of its Swedish predecessor, capturing a tender (often blood-splattered) young relationship. But Reeves has upped the suspense and gore, creating a more Hollywood-friendly horror thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Matthew Odam
Austin American-Statesman
October 7, 2013
Reeves' fresh vision and utterly compelling storytelling more than justify the making of this American iteration that could very well make a surprise appearance on year-end lists the way its predecessor did.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
October 7, 2013
With its mix of true-blood romance and full-moon madness, Let Me In should hasten the twilight of the twerpy pretenders.
Jason Buchanan
TV Guide
October 7, 2013
Reeves, for the most part, delivers a film that's every bit as compelling as Alfredson's original.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Mark Adams
Screen International
October 7, 2013
Let Me In is a brilliantly effective horror film that is a thoroughly gripping and doesn't shirk from its supernatural chills.
Chase Whale
Gordon and the Whale
August 28, 2013
This is one of the best films of its kind in the recent years. It's not better than the original, but that's not what Matt Reeves set out to do - the man wanted to make a solid film and he did just that.
Roger Moore
Movie Nation
January 28, 2013
In playing up the bullying, Reeves has Americanized a very good Swedish film without de-fanging it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Enrique Buchichio
Uruguay Total
August 25, 2011
Vale la pena verla, por supuesto, pero mi mejor recomendación sería ver (antes o después) la versión sueca. Puede ser incluso un interesante ejercicio de comparación...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
August 15, 2011
It doesn't have the emotional depth or resonance of the original, but it's a sutiable genre entry.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Ed Whitfield
The Ooh Tray
June 29, 2011
It's winter in Reagan's America...but wasn't it always?
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
There was no good reason for this movie to exist beyond a lazy American disinterest in subtitles. But having said that, it's pretty great on its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
March 29, 2011
Let Me In is slow and thoughtful and its most chilling aspects require consideration after the fact by the viewer rather than simple thrills that wash over you viscerally and are just quickly gone.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Matt Neal
The Standard
March 24, 2011
This film makes me angry. Not because it's bad - I gave it four stars - but because it's unneccessary and shows up one of the biggest problems with Hollywood and audiences.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Shaun Munro
What Culture
March 14, 2011
For anyone who can be bothered to read subtitles, it is essentially a pointless endeavour, but Let Me In has a strident regard for what made the original so enthralling...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 11