Let Me In - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Let Me In Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Will Chadwick
We Got This Covered
November 9, 2013
Let Me In has a muddled storyline that never quite finds its focus. Every element here is just not as good as it was in the original, making this another pointless remake.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Glenn Dunks
Trespass
October 15, 2010
Fails to add anything to set it apart and there's no reason to prefer this to the fine Swedish original.
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
October 1, 2010
It's called Let Me In. That demanding title says something about how the gentle poetry of the original gets lost a bit in Reeves' translation.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Clay Cane
BET.com
November 22, 2010
Another month, another teen vampire flick.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
October 1, 2010
The American version of a beloved Swedish vampire tale comes with an irritating sense of déjà vu.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Diva Velez
TheDivaReview.com
October 3, 2010
Unnecessary remake that replicates rather than originates, neither truly scary nor even mildly disturbing. Surprisingly poor special effects and the neutering of a big plot point negate any potential.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
September 29, 2010
A striking picture to study, but a blunt, condensed take on the source material, sacrificing an unsettling sense of macabre harmony to keep elements blocky enough so they might be appreciated by a wide, profitable audience.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Beth Accomando
KPBS.org
October 1, 2010
I simply cannot admire what Reeves does with the remake. The best I can do is commend his skill at imitating the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
September 30, 2010
...for audiences who have had the pleasure of seeing "Let The Right One In," this version doesn't improve on its source material.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Kofi Outlaw
ScreenRant
October 3, 2010
Reeves' direction is a subdued, safe, clean -- and a bit boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Nick Pinkerton
Village Voice
September 28, 2010
There's a human tragedy somewhere here -- but aggrandized puppy-love romance and stylish revenge fantasy is all that lingers.
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times
November 4, 2010
The Swedish original, Let the Right One In, was blanched, spooky and sombre. This remake by Matt Cloverfield Reeves misses almost everything.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
September 30, 2010
This American remake of 2008's small Swedish gem is a valiant effort but rarely evokes the eerie essence of the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Sukhdev Sandhu
Daily Telegraph (UK)
October 14, 2014
Let Me In doesn't need to exist unless, that is, the very notion of Swedish cinema is strange and unpalatable to you.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Matt Pais
Metromix.com
September 30, 2010
Strips away the soul and the vision until it's butchered its source material as badly as the recent Nightmare on Elm Street remake.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Willie Waffle
WaffleMovies.com
October 1, 2010
Writer/director Matt Reeves wants to make Let Me In a moody, sullen shocker with a touch of romance tossed in, but boring is a better term for it all.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Erik Childress
eFilmCritic.com
October 1, 2010
Certainly well-made on its own, its adherence to almost being a direct copy of the beloved original with a few crucially damaging changes ultimately reveal this to be rather pointless for those already initimately familiar with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
September 30, 2010
It's an honorable attempt, but there's still no genuine need for this film to exist.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
April 28, 2015
An awful lot of trouble to go to just because some people don't like reading subtitles.
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
September 30, 2010
The language has been changed to English, of course, which is the only real reason this movie exists; the story development, desolate tone, and key set pieces are mostly copied from the original movie.
Page 1 of 11