Let Me In - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Let Me In Reviews

October 7, 2013
Let Me In is one of the few horror films that will trouble you long after the credits roll.
October 7, 2013
With its mix of true-blood romance and full-moon madness, Let Me In should hasten the twilight of the twerpy pretenders.
October 7, 2013
The result, though no less creepy than the Swedish film, mislays its lyricism and otherworldliness.
October 4, 2010
The poetic Swedish vampire picture (with arterial spray) Let the Right One In has been hauntingly well transplanted to the high desert of Los Alamos, New Mexico, and renamed Let Me In.
October 2, 2010
The tragedy in Jenkins' pathetic protector focuses the film's themes of desperation and the myopia of puppy love when you're young enough (or undead enough) to feel immortal
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 1, 2010
Let Me In is not as fantastic as Let the Right One In, which you should rent immediately. But it is undeniably powerful and made with obvious admiration and respect for the source material.
October 1, 2010
A smart horror film that exploits a deep-seated fear in America: subtitle-phobia.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 1, 2010
It's still a striking piece of character-driven horror, and it still ranks (despite the effects) among the more understated fright fests to hit the mainstream in recent memory.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 1, 2010
What works so well here is the juxtaposition of youthful innocence and downright puppy love with monstrosity and murder. Mean kids are scary. Kids who drink blood are scarier.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 1, 2010
It's called Let Me In. That demanding title says something about how the gentle poetry of the original gets lost a bit in Reeves' translation.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 1, 2010
[Director] Reeves had the smarts to identify and appropriate everything that made the original film so moving and visually memorable. Even better, he invigorates this faithful reproduction with remarkably effective contributions of his own.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 1, 2010
Matt Reeves takes a step toward making everyone's favorite bloodsuckers scary again.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 1, 2010
It is at once artful and unpretentious, more interested in intimacy and implication than in easy scares or slick effects.
October 1, 2010
If you like dank, disturbing little horror movies, invite Let Me In into your moviegoing schedule.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 1, 2010
Reeves so deeply understands the nature of childhood terror that Let Me In burns with a white-hot clarity.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 1, 2010
It's actually strong enough to make the case that not all remakes bite.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 1, 2010
The scariest, creepiest and most elegantly filmed horror movie I've seen in years -- it positively drives a stake through the competition.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 1, 2010
Let Me In wants to make your flesh crawl, and it probably will. But it's unlikely to ever get under anyone's skin, the way Let the Right One In did.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 30, 2010
Let Me In represents one of the best and most brutal vampire movies to come along in a while...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 30, 2010
This is more than a respectful remake; Let Me In is quietly stylish and thoroughly chilling in its own right.
September 30, 2010
Instead of exploring uncanny realms of psychological terror usually reserved for Poe or Lovecraft, [Reeves] goes all Freddy Krueger.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 30, 2010
If you've never seen the original, you may not sense that something's missing. And the casting is in some ways an improvement.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 30, 2010
Despite being about vampires, Let Me In can feel chillingly real.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 30, 2010
It's a heartbreaker of a coming-of-age tale, even if there's a string of exsanguinated corpses to be accounted for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 30, 2010
I thought for sure that any Hollywood remake of Tomas Alfredson's artful Swedish vampire film, Let the Right One In, would be a crass desecration. Well, color me blushing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 30, 2010
It's an honorable attempt, but there's still no genuine need for this film to exist.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 30, 2010
The Americanized version is a nice parlor trick, and will satisfy those who believe fidelity is the principal virtue of a good adaptation, but what's the point?
Read More | Original Score: B-
September 30, 2010
The language has been changed to English, of course, which is the only real reason this movie exists; the story development, desolate tone, and key set pieces are mostly copied from the original movie.
September 30, 2010
The original was a very good thriller. The new one is simply a good one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 30, 2010
Reeves understands what made the first film so eerie and effective, and here the same things work again.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 29, 2010
Reeves's direction lunges more resolutely for the mainstream jugular, but that's no bad thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 29, 2010
Reeves hasn't just remade the Swedish cult vampire film Let the Right One In into a more fluid and visceral movie. He's made it more dangerous.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 29, 2010
This is a really good movie, good enough that whether it needed to be made is beside the point. If you've seen the original, you'll be happy with the results. If you haven't, then just sit back and enjoy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 29, 2010
If I hadn't seen the original, I might have gone ga-ga over Reeves' version. But even with the shock of novelty gone, the film still draws you into its chilly, demonic heart.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 29, 2010
The new Let Me In does more than merely preserve the original's mood; it actually improves on it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 28, 2010
Rest assured, much of what made the first film so special remains intact.
September 28, 2010
There's a human tragedy somewhere here -- but aggrandized puppy-love romance and stylish revenge fantasy is all that lingers.
September 16, 2010
Reeves' film sticks fairly close to the original's plot and characters -- and even sometimes its shots -- but he ingeniously alters the context in order to capture a similar mood.
September 13, 2010
This unsettling, effective American remake really gets under the skin as one of the year's most powerful thrillers.
September 12, 2010
While all that is artful about Let Me In comes straight from the original, the Hollywood version commands respect for not dumbing things down.