Lethal Weapon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lethal Weapon Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Top Critic
Johanna Steinmetz
Chicago Tribune
May 13, 2013
As action-adventure, it's pointlessly puerile, a movie where the heroes are so childish they try to one-up each other with fancy shots at the pistol range.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Ben Yagoda
Philadelphia Daily News
December 6, 2013
What this premise needs is a serviceable plot, but screenwriter Shane Block hasn't provided one. Indeed, for an action thriller, Lethal Weapon is unacceptably slow.
Bob Grimm
Las Vegas Mercury
August 13, 2002
| Original Score: 2/5
Jake Euker
F5 (Wichita, KS)
July 17, 2005
| Original Score: 2/5
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
June 14, 2012
Yeah, I know, I know: It's considered an action classic and routinely pegged as one of the best "buddy cop" films, but it's always held just marginal appeal for me -- besides, compare it to Die Hard, and its "classic" status seems even more ludicrous.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Brandon Judell
PopcornQ
December 26, 2002
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Pat Graham
Chicago Reader
November 27, 2007
Empty glitz in search of a style.
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
August 12, 2012
What does it say that I loved it as a boy of fourteen?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Geoff Brown
Time Out
June 24, 2006
In this classy all-action thriller, Mel Gibson oozes charm the way his victims ooze blood.
Roger Hurlburt
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
May 13, 2013
Nothing, however, can really prepare audiences for the generally good, though offbeat, performances, gritty action and serio-comic exploits of the Good Guys vs. the Bad Guys.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
John Marriott
Radio Times
December 6, 2013
Implausibility is a large part of the entertainment in this romp par excellence, with each overblown set piece becoming ever more ludicrous.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Ralph Novak
People Magazine
December 6, 2013
Thanks to a peculiar chemistry and a terrific script, Mel Gibson and Danny Glover lift this movie above mere TV-cop fodder.
Elliot Panek
Common Sense Media
January 1, 2011
Mismatched cops spar in violent '80s action hit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
January 2, 2005
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
I'm a guy who is bored by shootouts and chase scenes. I've seen it all. But this movie thrilled me from beginning to end.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
July 7, 2009
From a distance, Lethal Weapon might appear generic, but a closer look reveals something special.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
James Rocchi
Netflix
November 7, 2002
Still remarkably entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Scott Weinberg
eFilmCritic.com
July 26, 2002
| Original Score: 4/5
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
January 1, 2000
Lethal Weapon is big, dumb fun, and often genuinely funny and exciting. It's no sin to enjoy it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Rebecca Murray
About.com
February 21, 2003
| Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 3