Letters from Iwo Jima - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Letters from Iwo Jima Reviews

July 24, 2008
Eastwood offers a profound perspective on WWII.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 25, 2007
Telling the story of the famous WWII battle from a Japanese perspective, Clint Eastwood's Letters from Iwo Jima is a companion piece to his own Flags of our Fathers. And, to a certain degree, it's a better film.
July 21, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 4/6
July 14, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 11, 2007
Warner's two-disc set offers up several excellent features ...
June 23, 2007
I have to ask myself: If "Flags of our Fathers" was supposed to be an indictment of the media for helping the Iraq war along, then is this film comparing the Japanese that bombed us at Pearl Harbor to the Fundamentalist Muslims that attacked the Trade Cen
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 20, 2007
Along with Eastwood's comments, talking among other things about the difference between US and Japanese soldiers, the special edition contains A&E's excellent docu, Heroes of Iwo Jima, narrated by Gene Hackman, about the photograph and its aftermath.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 8, 2007
As a wise man once said, the best way to prevent war is to learn how lucky one was to survive it. Letters from Iwo Jima finally provides that inspiring insight.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
June 2, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 30, 2007
A Japanese war flick comprised of contrasting character portraits of soldiers torn between dying with honor and the very human instinct of self-preservation.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 23, 2007
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 23, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 23, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 22, 2007
The second disc on the DVD includes two great featurettes one on the characters in the film and the other a look at how Eastwood made the film happen with the key players involved and directing a cast in a foreign language.
| Original Score: 4.5/5
May 22, 2007
Ventures the idea that the World War II Japanese foot soldier, rather than the exoticized and deeply insane racial stereotype, may in many cases have not wished to fight in a war at all.
May 21, 2007
On both sides we see men acting as savages, true, but mostly we see men who would rather be home in bed. (HD-DVD and DVD Combo Format)
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10