Liar Liar - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Liar Liar Reviews

Page 2 of 3
July 12, 2001
If you're NOT a Carrey fan, I recommend you see this & THEN pass judgement on his talent & his ability to hold a movie together with something other than his butt.He rocks.
Full Review| Original Score: 5
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
February 27, 2001
While the humor is absolutely hilarious, the sentiment is overly sappy, and several times that conflict risks sinking this otherwise sturdy vehicle.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
February 14, 2001
...as Liar Liar proves one more time, there is probably no more consistently funny performer working in film today.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
January 1, 2000
Well into his tumultuous career, Mr. Carrey finally turns up in a straightforward comic vehicle, and the results are much wilder and funnier than this mundane material should have allowed.
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
All-in-all, Liar Liar is pretty good fun, and it represents one of Carrey's most entertaining movies to date.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
I am gradually developing a suspicion, or perhaps it is a fear, that Jim Carrey is growing on me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
It's a magnificent comic experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5

E! Online
January 1, 2000
...Liar Liar lets Carrey show you the funny...
Full Review | Original Score: B
Liz Braun
Jam! Movies
January 1, 2000
One of the reasons Liar, Liar works so well is that Carrey gets to bounce off an excellent supporting cast.
| Original Score: 4/5
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
January 1, 2000
Oh, I wasn't expecting much, really. And it was much better than Dumb and Dumber.
Dan Jardine
Apollo Guide
January 1, 2000
To his credit, Carrey is right for this sort of role, as his physical and facial contortions appropriately convey his character's shock and disbelief. But there are only so many jokes to be had with this as the film's centrifugal force.
| Original Score: 55/100
Cynthia Fuchs
Philadelphia City Paper
January 1, 2000
Jim Carrey Jim Carrey.
Darren Bignell
Empire Magazine
January 1, 2000
...a reliably entertaining slice of comic nonsense.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jack Garner
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
January 1, 2000
In the film, Carrey manages a balancing act that'll please his fans, but also promises to broaden his audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
January 1, 2000
It isnā(TM)t for everyone, but neither is peanut butter with jam.
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
January 1, 2000
The funniest movie I have seen in a very long time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 1, 2000
I hate slapstick because it usually dissolves into mindless stupidity, but Carrey manages to take this brand of humor to a new level.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
January 1, 2000
This is Carrey's most mature (and mainstream) comic turn, with flashes of introspection and tenderness.
| Original Score: 4/4
Russell Smith
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
This film is both too formulaic and too much a one-man vehicle to rate as a true masterpiece. But God strike me dead if I'm lying, this is one gut-busting funny movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
January 1, 2000
Essentially, the actor is miscast here. Unlike [Robin] Williams, he isn't good with children. In fact, you don't even sense that he likes his child co-star. There's no apparent rapport.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 2 of 3