Life Reviews

Page 2 of 13
July 22, 2018
A sci-fi drama that succeeds in capturing the long-prescribed design for survival flicks and thus accordingly succeeds at contrived, unimaginative drama as well. Whether you watch Life or not, you have seen Life before.
April 11, 2018
The atmospheric, intricate tension here is masterfully crafted, the performances from all are pitch-perfect for what is called for, and in Calvin we have a movie monster who is one of the most bone-chilling beasties to come along in years.
March 19, 2018
Life is a solidly entertaining creature feature, if lacking the innovation more discerning sci-fi fans might be searching for.
March 3, 2018
It does not copy, but it does show its clear influences... [Full review in Spanish]
January 30, 2018
I enjoyed Life, and the actors are good in it...a fascinating science-horror story on the fringe of reality.
December 29, 2017
... the film itself has no flavor. [Full review in Spanish]
December 26, 2017
It's just an okay film that fell out of my brain soon after I left the theatre.
December 12, 2017
... the film flows between lightness - and hope - and the heaviness of misfortune. [Full review in Spanish]
December 6, 2017
The plot may not withstand calm reflection after the credits roll, but while the film is running Espinosa keeps our nerves far too jangled to care.
December 5, 2017
Generic characters and story aside, Life is definitely a suspenseful, blood-drenched affair filled with familiar faces that will satisfy those looking to waste 103 minutes
November 20, 2017
It's familiar comfort food for those in need of gory goodness.
November 5, 2017
You may wanna have a barf bag nearby because it's an edge-of-your-seat, unrelenting, chilling and intense adventure - and quite possibly the best alien movie of the year.
November 2, 2017
Fortunately, the writers are well aware of their inspirations; enough to avoid certain clichs.
October 13, 2017
You'll laugh at the bad dialogue, cringe as Calvin stalks the crew, and stare in utter disbelief as Doctor Pilot unironically recites Goodnight Moon when all hope seems lost. I cannot stress how stupid this scene is.
September 20, 2017
This is a B-grade horror movie wrapped nicely in A-grade packaging.
September 7, 2017
If there are to be no inventive moments and no thrills that aren't at least secondhand, we can at least have some tolerably good spectacle.
September 5, 2017
Yes, it's predictable as hell, full of cliches and at times, damn insane, but it's one hell of a watch.
August 28, 2017
Life might not be high art, but it's awesomely effective horror. I'm never watching it again.
August 24, 2017
Life is utterly predictable when it's not being outright nonsensical.
August 23, 2017
Terror about making contact with another form of life hardly constitutes a novel story line, and the movie's conclusion proves relatively easy to outguess.
Page 2 of 13