Life Itself - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Life Itself Reviews

Page 1 of 8
May 20, 2019
So many feels...
February 26, 2019
If you're a fan of characters, feelings, and lives told through intersections, this is a must see.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 9, 2019
While Dan Fogelman might not trust his audience to understand the film, or maybe his own writing to tell it, he definitely trusts his actors to shine. And that they do.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 7, 2019
A starry cast that also includes Mandy Patinkin as Will's father keeps things watchable even when the whirl of competing stories makes it hard to keep track of what is happening.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 25, 2018
The complex framework of the approach in the film (which resorts to the well-known strategy of looking at a story through different points of view) ends up obscuring the story. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 21, 2018
I must admit that it generated an emotional reaction in me, which made me appreciate its honesty and ambition. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 4, 2018
Life Itself is proposed as an accomplished melodramatic exercise, powerful, honest, with some very lucid dialogues, about links and their derivatives.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
November 9, 2018
Life Itself celebrates the human condition and all of its complications with humuor, poignancy and love.
October 24, 2018
If only all movies could begin like "Life Itself." A single camera shot but one that is narrated by Samuel L. Jackson in all his glory! You can't help but laugh during the first five minutes of this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 2, 2018
A multi-generational, international Ancestry: the Movie type of thing. It's plotted into chapters that are short, rapid and yet intimate as a family grows and morphs and shrinks and morphs over decades.
September 21, 2018
The cast is on point -- particularly Oscar Isaac... and the witty, tender and curious structure of the narrative kept me engaged.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 21, 2018
Life Itself is nothing like you expect.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
September 20, 2018
...if your attitude is that life is meaningless and then you die, you may want to give this one a pass. Fogelman clearly believes life has meaning, even if we can't always see it for ourselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 20, 2018
I've seen Life Itself twice already, and I may even watch it a third time someday, not because it's perfect-it isn't-but because just as with my own life, I like to revisit the high points.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 20, 2018
This movie made me feel the full range of human emotions, all in the space of two hours, and left me contemplating who and what people and circumstances affect me personally in my own life.
Full Review | Original Score: A
September 19, 2018
As someone who appreciates attempts to channel difficult material into mainstream appeal, I similarly appreciate what Fogelman was trying to do with Life Itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
September 18, 2018
This isn't easy stuff to pull off, but Fogelman succeeds in luring us in and keeping us genuinely involved with all these character.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 13, 2018
To describe its plot in detail is to betray the game of the film, but suffice it to say that the sum of its parts are exhilarating.
September 12, 2018
Life Itself will devastate and delight audiences the world over bringing universal messages of hope amongst tragedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
September 9, 2018
You may want to keep some tissues on hand while watching Life Itself. The tears will flow and there's no way to stop them.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 8