Light of My life Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 21, 2019
An interesting post-apocalyptic drama. [Full Review in Spanish]
October 21, 2019
In addition to the successful use of light, another aspect that leads us to the heart of the film is worth noting: the staging. [Full review in Spanish]
October 20, 2019
A remarkable science fiction drama of dystopian sort, with a realistic and fully contemporary atmosphere. [Full Review in Spanish]
October 8, 2019
[A] precious story. [Full review in Spanish]
October 8, 2019
I couldn't help but empathize deeply with our characters' plight and get extremely emotionally invested in their journey.
October 1, 2019
The filmmaker... seems to have written to this character with the desire to embody someone that really motivated him to act. [Full review in Spanish]
September 3, 2019
Light of My Life has flashes of a film that could appeal to all, but ultimately its slow-burn nature will divide audiences. For some it's absorbing and brooding, but for others it's too indulgent.
August 22, 2019
So while Light of My Life is often hampered by its leisurely pace, it features great performances and asks questions worthy of discussion.
August 17, 2019
... there's nothing new here to be remembered. Sadly, the promise of a thrilling story fades along the way.
August 16, 2019
Affleck and Pniowsky find a genuine, easy rapport onscreen.
August 15, 2019
It's not a pretty picture he paints here. But it makes you want Affleck to keep picking up that brush.
August 14, 2019
Though "Light of My Life" is a well-filmed and occasionally brutally effective piece of work, Affleck dilutes the power of the story with too many self-indulgent, patience-testing scenes.
August 14, 2019
A minimalist take that hangs firmly on the natural connection of its two main characters and its effectively bleak atmosphere.
August 11, 2019
A slow-burning, atmospheric post-apocalyptic tale that's often lethargic, forgettable and underwhelming.
August 10, 2019
There's a quiet sense of grace and humanity that shines through in Light of My Life, even if the story that Casey Affleck is telling takes a little too long to get to a place we've been before.
August 9, 2019
"Light of My Life" is an ambitious yet tightly focused tale of survival, proving that Casey Affleck is not just a hell of an actor, but a tremendous filmmaker as well.
August 9, 2019
The pace sometimes drags, although I got drawn into the film's slow patient build.
Top Critic
August 9, 2019
Another dour end-of-the-world epic that fails to live up to the sum of its parts.
August 9, 2019
Writer /director Casey Affleck's chilling dystopian tale raises resonant questions about parental love, and about the vagaries of fiction.
August 9, 2019
The quiet, sombre mood of the film invites all kinds of reflections from viewers.
Page 1 of 3