Lion - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lion Reviews

Page 1 of 12
June 6, 2018
The beginning is harrowing and the end is heartbreaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.8/10
June 6, 2018
Adoption is used a plot point in a lot of movies, but it is rarely explored this well...Here it's about also exploring why the people who raised you are equally important.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.2/10
June 6, 2018
I don't think I've ever seen a movie that's this much about the experience of adoption and the relation between adoptive parents and adopted children...it's a rich subject that we don't see much in film.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
January 30, 2018
Whatever issues I may have with the mise-en-scène, I was still deeply affected by the drama, and I expect others to be, as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 25, 2018
Director Garth Davis taps into a Saroo's childhood memories to create a delicate link to his new life and give him reason to hope.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 18, 2018
The work of Greig Frasie as director of photography is another point of attention...it is a pleasure to see the use of light for dramatic purposes. [Full review in Spanish]
December 28, 2017
... an emotional life story... [Full review in Spanish]
December 28, 2017
Give it a chance, for not only is it an emotionally powerful experience, but Lion is the rare movie that can transform your view of the world we live in.
Full Review | Original Score: A
December 27, 2017
Photographer Greig Fraser's landscapes of Saroo's two worlds are extremely handsome.
December 26, 2017
Lion is a beautiful and moving film made all the more compelling because it is a true story ... make sure to bring your tissues.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 18, 2017
As much a parable as a drama, Lion quietly explores a social problem while staying strongly focused on its intimacies.
December 1, 2017
What it does , quite beautifully, is make a case for a common - and borderless - humanity. The strength and love that uphold families is palpable and powerful. Be sure and stay for the credits and have a hanky ready.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
November 19, 2017
...sends the audience on an epic adventure.
November 3, 2017
Sad yet uplifting, frightening yet inspirational, Lion breaks your heart into a thousand pieces and puts them back together in the end. It makes you believe in miracles and embrace hardships by celebrating courage and resilience in its own unique way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 27, 2017
This one's a gem of a film. One that takes an already spectacular story and turns it into an absolute sublime experience. Those multiple Oscar nominations are much deserved.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 17, 2017
The ending is predictably lovely but it might have been lovelier still if we'd got there faster.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 1, 2017
The beats aren't anything new; the value is in the execution, and that's great.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 18, 2017
Based on a true story, it's a very appealing film, but an oddly shaped one.
September 11, 2017
Lion stirs emotions, but the storytelling is straightforward, not cloying.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 29, 2017
Director Garth Davis' film Lion sits squarely in the category of real-life stories that are more astonishing than any fiction.
Page 1 of 12