Little Children - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Little Children Reviews

Page 1 of 8
January 4, 2007
Field has merely looked down upon people trying to make sense of their lives, and judged them unworthy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 26, 2006
Suburbia continues to serve as the dartboard of choice for filmmakers bent on demonstrating their urbane superiority to the dull denizens of tract housing.
January 11, 2007
from the film's opening scene when an ill-advised and badly used omniscient narrator is employed, I was squirming in my seat and checking my watch. ... LITTLE CHILDREN runs on too long at close to two and a half hours.There are many sequences that are ext
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 6, 2010
As commentary on our time, it may be accurate. As movie drama, it isn't so much overheated as reheated in the microwave on high.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 28, 2009
Its antiseptic textures merely whimper 'Oscar clip'
September 24, 2006
In requiring only passivity from its audience, whom it shovel-feeds faux-erudite lessons, it's the Academy Award-baiting version of Don't Ask, Just Tell cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 2, 2007
Peyton Place with a perv!
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
April 24, 2009
Bereft of a protagonist, the movie breaks down under the weight of absurd voice-over narration and an exploitative ending that is as indefensibly wrongheaded as it is cheap.
Full Review | Original Score: D
January 5, 2007
I didn't like any of these characters, but I kept pulling for them anyway -- right up to the shock-o-riffic ending, when I felt I'd been sucker-punched.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2007
The film is populated with such self-obsessed, distasteful characters, it's hard to care how or why any of them finds happiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 21, 2006
A slow-paced bourgeois melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
February 8, 2007
It had me at hello... and kept me for a long time, and then lost me in its final moments.
April 20, 2007
...a flawed work that sparkles only sporadically.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
February 5, 2007
Little children wake and listen
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 28, 2006
Little Children ultimately seems to display the conformity to convention that so alarms its central characters.
September 30, 2006
Seems terribly confused about whether it wants to be literary drama or out-and-out satire.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
September 26, 2006
'Little Children' sometimes trivializes what deserves serious treatment.
October 31, 2006
The unrestrained (and rather excellent) trailer for Todd Field's Little Children would have us believe that the Whore of Babylon (possibly Kate Winslet) is coming for us on NJ Transit, with Pandora's Box in hand.
October 18, 2006
It is only once the end credits have begun to roll that you step back, process what you have seen, and leave dissatisfied.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 19, 2006
...there is some sharp observational comedy here and some painful, truthful drama, but they always seem at odds.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 8