Live Free or Die Hard - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Live Free or Die Hard Reviews

Page 1 of 7551
September 5, 2017
This 4th entry into the Die Hard series is far from being a disaster - some parts are actually quite fun - but it stretches the limits of believablity to an extreme and makes you yearn for McClane to just be locked in a single building again.

And who the hell signed off on Justin Long's haircut?
Super Reviewer
½ August 25, 2017
Bruce Willis plays John McClain again in this solid actioner that fully embraces teenage mentality movie-wise: less dialogue, more action. More fistfights. More shootouts. More explosions. It's actually a comfort watching Willis jump from a exploding fighter jet w/o a parachute and totally walk away from it. The film is loaded with vehicles of all types. Ambulances, fire trucks, tractor trailers, classic cars, helicopters ... it's a gearhead's wet dream. Leave yer fancy libtard edjumacation at the door, grow a pair, and hitch yerself in. Big fun, old school.
August 25, 2017
If u've seen the preview... well when people start using cars to take down helicopters... all I can say is Yippee-yai-chaye!
½ August 16, 2017
Die Hard 4.0 is a very story-centric movie and not character driven at all. But it's a fun and enjoyable flick, with many outstanding and highly suspensive action-sequences! Cinematography and Bruce Willis's performance is another wow-factor -- but the massive lack of character depth to both protagonist and antagonist made it at lot less emotionally satisfying. But damn what a ride!

Personal rating: 77/100
Critical rating: 70/100
½ July 6, 2017
A good addition to the franchise but still not as good as the first. I liked the action sequences even if they were a bit ridiculous (especially the oil refinery sequence).
June 27, 2017
????????? ????? ????? ????????? ???.
½ May 30, 2017
Review (1~5)

#Content: Script 3 | Acting 4 | Cinematography 5 | Film Editing 5

#Visual: Costume Design 4 | Makeup & Hairstyling 4 | Scenic Design 4 | Lighting 4 | Visual Effects 5

#Sound: Score & Soundtracks 5 | Sound Editing & Mixing 5

#Overall (1~10): 6
May 26, 2017
Fantastic action sequences with big, brash, old school stunts, an Average Joe hero, and a surprisingly engaging plot.
May 26, 2017
I hope this film is going to kick arse but i have my doubts i really hope i am wrong. John McClane rocks
May 17, 2017
DID YOU SEE THAT FRIGGIN CHOPPER EXPLODE
May 8, 2017
awful...i dont care..awful
May 8, 2017
Man what can i say this is just a awesome movie, Bruce willis could make 100 die hards and he would still be awesome. Also justin long was very funny along with willis.
½ April 30, 2017
originally shot as an R rating and then edited for the masses, this is one of the best Die Hards no matter the rating. Action packed, hard hitting, over the top action - Bruce and Justin deliver a fantastic dynamic. And to top it off, the character building for the villain is close to the original.
½ April 30, 2017
4/29/2017 (2): A pretty good action flick and better than the previous two installments. A great cast.
½ April 20, 2017
Look, the character of John McClane hasn't help up great; he's barely human at this point, & Willis seems to basically be sleepwalking through the dialogue. Still, this is far & away the best Die Hard since the first one, thanks to the perfectly casted Long in the sidekick role & the awesomely preposterous action. The car / helicopter chase, the highway fight between the jet & a semi, the elevator shootout...there's a Mission: Impossible look to the craziness of it all, down to the practical effects.
April 13, 2017
Never as good as the original but still a strong entry in the series.
March 25, 2017
More enjoyable and involving than the previous installment, partly due to the added "daughter in peril" element and more satisfying moments of personal conversation between Mclane and the villain. The action is sometimes pushed to the limits required for the suspension of disbelief to remain intact and the whole truck sequence near the end was very overdone and silly. However, the movie as a whole managed to win me over enough to enjoy it on several more occasions since.
½ March 20, 2017
A great turnaround for the Die Hard series.
March 20, 2017
Enjoyable action film & one of the best of recent years. It just didn't feel like a Die Hard film for some reason. I know it's 12years on from Die Hard With a Vengeance but Willis seemed to be too gloomy & pissed-off as McClane this time around. The villain was somewhat of a mystery also - was he causing havoc just to make a point or to steal loads of money? Not sure. Seemed to fizzle out at the end. If you were to swap Willis with Steven Segal this would have been an excellent 'Under Siege 3'
March 16, 2017
Awesome! Best Die Hard movie yet
Page 1 of 7551