Live Free or Die Hard - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Live Free or Die Hard Reviews

Page 1 of 7552
December 14, 2017
It's pretty much taken before taken ever came out and because I was 5 when this movie came out I didn't have the chance to watch this movie or die hard or taken. But I watched taken first 3 years ago before die hard and so far both films suck.
December 10, 2017
It's a bit ridiculous, but Live Free or Die Hard's only major flaws are its PG-13 rating and the fact that "Yippee Ki Yay Motherf*cker" was censored. The film still can't touch the original, but it's an improvement on the second and almost as good as the third. The action and stunts are great, Bruce Willis gives a great "pre-phoning it in" performance, and Timothy Olyphant makes for a great new kind of villain, at least within the franchise. All in all, making Die Hard PG-13 wasn't a good idea, but the film is great despite this.
½ November 30, 2017
Worthy sequel, save that the action and effects were often too gimmicky.
October 25, 2017
Not bad as the 3rd sequel. May be it's because expectation was lowered initially due to the 2nd sequel Die Hard with a vengeance. Just wondering if it will be as good in the next sequel when Grandpa McCrane jumps from skyhigh and his femur or tibia stays intact.
October 16, 2017
Now this is a Die Hard film that was just about as awesome as the first ! Bruce Willis is back again as John Mclane! This film offers a lot more action than 2 and 3 and definitely makes a big step up. The new villain Thomas Gabriel was incredible! he was almost as good as Hans Gruber (the original Die Hard Villain) Timothy Olyphant really did a great performance in this film and I really enjoyed it. Personally my 2nd favorite Die Hard film.
October 4, 2017
Fantastic action sequences with big, brash, old school stunts, an Average Joe hero, and a surprisingly engaging plot.
½ October 3, 2017
Terrific! Justin Long nailed it! He was super funny and pretty much made the movie second to Bruce. Also, terrific job by Timothy Olyphant as well! Not often you see a movie come back after nearly two decades and be a box office hit woohoo!
½ September 24, 2017
The action is a bit ridiculous sure. The plot is a little far fetched sure. Why is this movie so good then? Because it understands what made the first Die Hard so good and that's making the lovable asshole John McClain a human being and giving a villain that can match him every step of the way. Side note, Justin Long is a great sidekick.
½ September 24, 2017
An incrediblely intense movie with action start to finish. In true John McLaine style it really stays in keeping with the originals. The new villian is brilliant and whilst its far fetched its entirely captivating.
September 5, 2017
This 4th entry into the Die Hard series is far from being a disaster - some parts are actually quite fun - but it stretches the limits of believablity to an extreme and makes you yearn for McClane to just be locked in a single building again.

And who the hell signed off on Justin Long's haircut?
Super Reviewer
½ August 25, 2017
Bruce Willis plays John McClain again in this solid actioner that fully embraces teenage mentality movie-wise: less dialogue, more action. More fistfights. More shootouts. More explosions. It's actually a comfort watching Willis jump from a exploding fighter jet w/o a parachute and totally walk away from it. The film is loaded with vehicles of all types. Ambulances, fire trucks, tractor trailers, classic cars, helicopters ... it's a gearhead's wet dream. Leave yer fancy libtard edjumacation at the door, grow a pair, and hitch yerself in. Big fun, old school.
August 25, 2017
If u've seen the preview... well when people start using cars to take down helicopters... all I can say is Yippee-yai-chaye!
½ August 16, 2017
Die Hard 4.0 is a very story-centric movie and not character driven at all. But it's a fun and enjoyable flick, with many outstanding and highly suspensive action-sequences! Cinematography and Bruce Willis's performance is another wow-factor -- but the massive lack of character depth to both protagonist and antagonist made it at lot less emotionally satisfying. But damn what a ride!

Personal rating: 77/100
Critical rating: 70/100
½ July 6, 2017
A good addition to the franchise but still not as good as the first. I liked the action sequences even if they were a bit ridiculous (especially the oil refinery sequence).
June 27, 2017
????????? ????? ????? ????????? ???.
½ May 30, 2017
Review (1~5)

#Content: Script 3 | Acting 4 | Cinematography 5 | Film Editing 5

#Visual: Costume Design 4 | Makeup & Hairstyling 4 | Scenic Design 4 | Lighting 4 | Visual Effects 5

#Sound: Score & Soundtracks 5 | Sound Editing & Mixing 5

#Overall (1~10): 6
May 26, 2017
I hope this film is going to kick arse but i have my doubts i really hope i am wrong. John McClane rocks
May 17, 2017
DID YOU SEE THAT FRIGGIN CHOPPER EXPLODE
May 8, 2017
awful...i dont care..awful
May 8, 2017
Man what can i say this is just a awesome movie, Bruce willis could make 100 die hards and he would still be awesome. Also justin long was very funny along with willis.
Page 1 of 7552