Living Out Loud - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Living Out Loud Reviews

Page 1 of 6
October 14, 2015
Great movie, great acting, great music, deeply moving, relatable... Holly Hunter superbly understated and brilliant-check out the disco scene. The low ratings here and elsewhere which this movie got are baffling to everyone I know that has seen it. So, if you care about what this site thinks, more than what people like you may thing, skip it, but I don't suggest that you do so.
August 23, 2015
One of the worst feminist films I have ever seen.
March 29, 2015
This is a wonderful film particularly for women who are coming into there own when life really hits
November 5, 2014
Holly Hunter is her annoying self, Danny DeVito his cute self, and Queen Latifah her spunky self.
January 16, 2014
I love it the movie because Queen laitfah
½ October 18, 2013
Great acting on the part of the three main leads, but the story doesn't really go anywhere or have much to say.
June 17, 2013
My favorite movie! Watching it now. :)
April 27, 2013
nice movie! :) sometimes you forget and loose who you really are, just coz life makes some turn to let those things out of your sight and make you forget to take care about yourself in spiritual way. makes you stop growing! and there comes something [if you are lucky to see and/or use it in good way] to change your life and give you wish to know who you really are!
November 20, 2012
Original, with multi-dimensional characters.
½ May 13, 2012
Not bad, but I didn't like the ending.
July 10, 2011
This movie rocks! It's a tale of rediscovering yourself and redefining and embarking on a new path in the aftermath of the end of a disappointing relationship. Themes of empowerment and friendship and expanding your comfort zone and finding and being true to your authentic self.
June 25, 2011
Showed this one to Troy....I had forgotten how fantastic it is....one of my favorites!
June 8, 2011
"D'une vie l'autre"
½ February 6, 2011
I loved this film. Funny. Sad. Angry. Full.
½ December 9, 2010
Eddie Cibrian in his undies... yum!
November 5, 2010
I probably would have appreciated the film more if I was divorced. It's ultimately about the protagonist reclaiming her identity after a poor marriage. But, it's also about conversation and connecting. Ith had a very real quality to it. The best element of the film: Holly Hunter. She was incredibly dynamic and engaging. The film was off beat and there were a couple scenes that could have easily been removed, but overall it made for a good night in. (11-2-10).
November 5, 2010
I probably would have appreciated the film more if I was divorced. It's ultimately about the protagonist reclaiming her identity after a poor marriage. But, it's also about conversation and connecting. Ith had a very real quality to it. The best element of the film: Holly Hunter. She was incredibly dynamic and engaging. The film was off beat and there were a couple scenes that could have easily been removed, but overall it made for a good night in. (11-2-10).
½ June 9, 2010
There are some nice moments of whimsy here, but as a character study it's fairly inert. The whole "recently liberated divorcee getting her groove back" shtick doesn't do Hunter many favors, and too often her blunt and cathartic monologues aren't nearly as charming or insightful as the film seems to treat them.
½ May 8, 2010
(from The Watermark, 11/12/98)
A misguided romantic comedy that isn't as satisfying as it wants to be. The directorial debut of respected screenwriter Richard LaGravanese (The Fisher King, The Bridges of Madison County, The Horse Whisperer) is disappointingly off-kilter in both its writing and direction. Hunter plays a rich New York City housewife who, after being dumped for a younger woman, realizes that she has given up a great deal of herself for her marriage. With an overactive imagination, she desperately tries to live up to her own fantasies of being secure, stable, and emotionally self-sufficient. With the support of Devito, her unwillingly platonic friend, she eventually does make a small shift toward her own happiness.
LaGravanese's strong points are his wonderfully interesting characters and his smart, witty dialogue. His weak point is finding a storyline for his characters, and communicating his theme that change happens in baby steps, no matter how hard a person may try. Often, we see a scene as Hunter envisions it happening, and then it is repeated, the way it really happened. This sleight-of-hand storytelling is clever, but not used to its full potential. Another problem with the film is Hunter's character. She goes to uncomfortable lengths to be different (i.e. drinking and smoking too much, falling in love with complete strangers, taking drugs, and bumping and grinding at a lesbian disco). Then LaGravanese, who often omits what seem to be key scenes, neglects to show us any catharsis or reflection Hunter may have on her escapades. The plot is only meandering, and the conflict is pedestrian; it feels more like a pilot for a TV series. QUEER QUOTIENT: The one thing that makes the whole experience worthwhile is Queen Latifah. Not only is she a kick-ass blues singer (why did she ever waste her talents on rap?), she is just the sass and attitude that the film so desperately needs. And she is cinched and duct-taped into her skin-tight dresses more than any drag queen I have ever seen in my life. No doubt she is one of the to-be-worshipped grand divas of the future. And let us not forget the extremely erotic scene in which Hunter receives a massage from a drop-dead gorgeous masseur / call boy in his skivvies. Now I know why the movie theater floor was so sticky.
Page 1 of 6