Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 1, 2000
The film had me alternating between a sugar high and drowsiness. One minute, I struggled to keep awake; the next, I was jumping in my seat. Neither extreme is particularly pleasurable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
A Laurel and Hardy film would have looked like deep sardonic humor compared with this sophomoric effort.
Full Review | Original Score: D
January 1, 2000
Guignol violence, Lock, Stock aspires to be something like the Beatles meet the Wild Bunch. Too bad it doesn't have even a rubber soul.
December 6, 2004
If only it could have resisted revelry in its own style and violence, it might have been one 1999's best films, due to its performances and clever plot twists.
Read More | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
Would be a prominent piece of low-budget filmmaking if had appeared a decade or so ago, but by now the genre is so tired, the glorification of violent criminals so prosaic, that it rates simply as an also-ran.
January 1, 2000
Although there are several funny episodes, the picture as a whole never quite gels.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Just don't expect to be dazzled by the story, because if you're like me... you'll have trouble following the faces, and hence, the plot, from one scene to another.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
We've heard it all before, and usually with a slightly more comprehensible accent.
January 1, 2000
Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels is a movie with absolutely nothing to say.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Maintains a light-hearted perspective, despite the blood.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels is the laborious title of an even more laborious Cockney action movie.
January 1, 2000
Because the film has to split its running time among so many different characters, all of whom look alike and act alike but have different names, I got rather bored.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 1, 2000
Go see it if you're in the mood. You're bound to get a chuckle, but don't expect too much.
March 19, 2002
The best one can say is that it's a smart cartoon, and a fairly exhausting viewing experience.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Lock, Stock is fun, in a slapdash way; it has an exuberance, and in a time when movies follow formulas like zombies, it's alive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
This may be the first movie to capture the reckless exuberance of Pulp Fiction without seeming like a blatant rip-off.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 7, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 3, 2009
What his other movies have done summarily or languidly, Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels does with some clear novice stumbles. It's creative and very clever. It's just not a classic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 14, 2012
Fast-paced romp has violence, gangsters, drugs.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 9, 2006
Expect plenty of laughs and some edge-of-your-seat sweats, but not a whole lot else.
Page 1 of 3