The Long Kiss Goodnight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Long Kiss Goodnight Reviews

October 25, 2011
Frankly, if I had to see either Harlin-Davis movie again, I'd opt for the klutzy unpleasantness of Cutthroat Island over the efficient if equally stupid unpleasantness of this 1996 release.
February 16, 2011
The Long Kiss Goodnight is the fall's best summer movie.
February 16, 2011
Like the heroine, the movie has two personalities that smartly coexist.
February 16, 2011
There's an excessive amount of excess -- a mind-numbing plurality of firearm battles, vehicular explosions and brutally frank sexual talk.
March 27, 2009
"The Long Kiss Goodnight" has a jokey good time with its outlandish pyrotechnics and offbeat character interplay.
June 24, 2006
The only saving graces are Davis's stripped-down, mean-as-a-wildcat portrayal of the Uzi-toting Charly, and Jackson's engagingly ineffectual turn.
August 30, 2004
Mr. Black's screenplay is mean-spirited, but it earns its keep with sharp, sarcastic dialogue and ingenious ways of setting up this story.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
June 18, 2002
With square-jawed grimaces and big guns, Geena Davis could be a convincing two-fisted bullet-spraying action hero -- if only she had a convincing movie in which to be one.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
May 12, 2001
Here's the supersexy and action-charged Hollywood take on France's La Femme Nikita that Bridget Fonda couldn't pull off in her Girl Scoutish Point of No Return.
January 1, 2000
[A] quip-filled but mean-spirited slugfest.
January 1, 2000
When the smoke finally clears for the final credits, we may have had a tolerably good time, but there's no lingering satisfaction.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
Is somebody kidding here? Given the movie's dialogue, the answer is probably yes, but jocular one-liners really grate on the ear amid wall-to-wall nastiness.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 1, 2000
I liked it in the same way I might like an arcade game: It holds your attention until you run out of quarters, and then you wander away without giving it another thought.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 11, 1996
Harlin and Davis don't seem to realize that the results aren't refreshingly revisionist - they're eye-avertingly embarrassing.
Full Review | Original Score: C-