Looking for Kitty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Looking for Kitty Reviews

Page 1 of 5
March 20, 2015
another winner from director/star Edward Burns
July 29, 2013
i wouldn't mind seeing this movie. wouldn't be my first choice but i'll give it a chance.
Super Reviewer
½ November 24, 2012
Looking for Kitty is the sort of indie comedy that is far too smug for its own good. It has some scenes that work well, but the film itself just feels too one-note, simplistic, and far too confined to justify its already brief running time. The characters aren't particularly interesting, the situations aren't particularly funny, and the narrative isn't nearly as clever as the filmmakers seem to believe it is. About the only thing it has going for it are the indie sensibilities that inject a sense of realism. That, however, only goes so far when there isn't much else to keep the audience engaged. The acting is serviceable, and the writing okay, but the story is too bland. Overall, a lackluster attempt at Woody Allen imitation.

2.5/5 Stars
September 29, 2012
A nice little gem. With some wonderful performances from Edward burns and David kumbholtz.
August 13, 2012
I will watch anything with Edward Burns in it:)
November 28, 2011
One of my favorite Ed Burns films. It was funny, sentimental. A great character piece. David Krumholtz was fantastic. Ed Burns was great.
½ June 2, 2010
Oh so the problem is that it isn't dramatic enough? I beg to disagree. It is that very minimalism of the movie that kills me, i like the silence. This is sleepwalker's cinema, and i like that type, i like movies with sad lonely men who've been deserted by their bitchy past flames. This is Men without Women set in New York City.
February 18, 2010
enjoyable yet predictable. watch only if you're an edward burns fan.
October 14, 2009
This was better than I was expecting. As an independent film, one shouldn't expect any big blockbuster. And this movie is not a detective movie or a comedy but more about relationships. This is a movie about the characters , how they interact, and how they deal with the problems that they have. Sure "Coach" had a small-town naive mentality, but that doesn't mean he's a bad guy. And Jack has a lot of bitterness in his life and he deals with it by closing everyone out... So it's a bit odd but believable that these two could strike up a friendship. And I didn't recognize David Krumholtz at all...
June 11, 2009
Took me roughly fourteen minutes to realize this wasn't a porno. Talk about disapointment! The NYC scenary & David Krumholtz's character stood out in what was an overall bland indie flick.
March 14, 2009
Unfortunately average indie character-piece. Were it not for the total douche played spot-on by Chris Parnell this would have been a complete sleeper. I think Edward Burns is an acquired taste that I haven't quite found a pairing for.
½ March 5, 2009
despite the lack of rating stars, i kinda liked it.
February 9, 2009
I love me some Edward Burns, but not all of his films work (just see "The Groomsmen"). And this is one of those that just don't work. The charming cast doesn't make up fir it's massively underdeveloped characters and not so charming ending. When you care for the actors but don't care for the characters, it's a problem.
October 3, 2008
Here Kitty Kitty Kitty Kitty, Here Kitty Kitty Kitty Kitty! Boy, do I need pussy! OK, enough! "Looking For Kitty" is another Edward Burns creation which I found to be of catwalk material. Burns plays Jack Stanton, a New York introverted private detective who takes on a missing person case. Yes, he is Looking For Kitty. Stanton himself has been missing the riches of life for a long time because he grieves the loss of his dead wife. David Krumholtz co-stars as Abe Fiannico, the Midwestern idiosyncratic baseball coach who travels to New York to find his missing wife. Yes, he is also Looking For Kitty. Abe hires Stanton to, yea you got it, to be Looking For Kitty. OK, I will stop "Kitting" around. New York plays a central figure in the film's symbolism & richness. Burns subtle, but yet, moving "Looking For Kitty" will quietly "stray" in your system for a while. Writer-Director Burns continues to be unappreciated by the film industry. He is the ultimate film voice of the Irish-American community. His acting effort as the cocky, standoffish Stanton was commendable. The petite Krumholtz gave a big performance as the desperate & honest Abe. One of the supreme supporting performances I have seen so far this year. "Looking For Kitty" is a prototype cinematic tool kit on an effective dialogue-driven film. ***** Excellent
September 14, 2008
just OK Burns poorest movie yet
½ August 25, 2008
Great small budget film. G
½ August 18, 2008
Edward Burns is the hopeless romantic I wish I could be. Maybe he is also the hopeless romantic he wishes he could be. Either way, I always like what he makes, and this is no exception.
½ August 1, 2008
Another Edward Burns film. I like his stuff, they all have a good indie vibe to it, the way indie films should be, using good dialog to tell the story.
½ July 30, 2008
I didn't think I was going to enjoy this one but after giving it a chance I really enjoyed it
July 24, 2008
Edward Burns is making such simple movies that have enough of a retro feel to make them different and very enjoyable.
Page 1 of 5