Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Paul Chambers
CNNRadio
March 12, 2010
Finally seeing this film so many years after I was told it was awful, I can't agree with the people who told me that. Perhaps I love Brooks' self-deprecating humor too much. Paul Chambers, CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 30, 2009
If there were any justice, the garlands now given to Woody Allen for Match Point would be handed over to Brooks
Kit Bowen
Hollywood.com
November 20, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
December 24, 2006
Brooks is going to India to shoot a movie (most of it filmed in New Delhi) about how to get laughs on foreign soil.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Nathan Rabin
AV Club
November 27, 2006
Looking for Comedy succeeds smashingly both as a comedy and as a savvy deconstruction of comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Stuart Klawans
The Nation
November 11, 2006
In Albert Brooks's new film, we get another plausible explanation of why we fight -- and it may be the most unsettling of all.
Carolyn Arends
Christianity Today
September 27, 2006
Those who like their humor wry and dry will be rewarded by a nuanced study of the way self-absorption can keep people disconnected, be they comedians, governments, or you and me.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
August 29, 2006
Looking For Comedy in the Muslim World is full of Albert Brooks' trademark jokes and absurd scenarios.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Pablo Villaša
Cinema em Cena
May 28, 2006
Brooks Ú o tipo de comediante mais corajoso que existe: aquele que prefere ser considerado um fracasso pela maioria desde que, no processo, divirta alguns poucos que consigam compreender seu senso de humor sutil e auto-depreciativo.
| Original Score: 4/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
May 12, 2006
... likeable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matt Pais
Metromix.com
May 4, 2006
Uses Middle Eastern stereotypes only to question what could be accomplished by foolishly sending Americans into a world we don't comprehend.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
February 11, 2006
I like all of Brooks's features, which are brilliantly conceptualized and deftly executed. This one's no exception, and some of the laughs are genuinely cathartic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
February 11, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: B
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card
January 29, 2006
I laughed my socks off. I may even have found a solid theme in all that silliness. Anyway, couldn't the world use a good laugh about now?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 26, 2006
Looking For Comedy ends up being light fare for smarter people.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.4/10
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
January 24, 2006
The cynicism that defined Brooks' early films has given way to hopefulness in the face of possible global catastrophe.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
Boo Allen
Denton Record-Chronicle
January 22, 2006
Acquired-taste Brooks takes his esoteric brand of dead-pan comedy to an unlikely audience with favorable but somewhat mixed results.
Full Review
January 21, 2006
A smart comedy with dry, sardonic wit, overflowing with tons of sarcasm. It only 'bombs' when Albert is doing his stand-up act and learning all the things that the people do NOT think are funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
January 20, 2006
For all its silliness, Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World is also a work of integrity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
David Elliott
San Diego Union-Tribune
January 20, 2006
An affront to PC maniacs everywhere, but a considerable gift to fanatics for comedy, Albert Brooks' Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World will find its Brooksian cult niche (if not in the Muslim world).
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 6