Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 12, 2010
Finally seeing this film so many years after I was told it was awful, I can't agree with the people who told me that. Perhaps I love Brooks' self-deprecating humor too much. Paul Chambers, CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 30, 2009
If there were any justice, the garlands now given to Woody Allen for Match Point would be handed over to Brooks
November 20, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 24, 2006
Brooks is going to India to shoot a movie (most of it filmed in New Delhi) about how to get laughs on foreign soil.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 27, 2006
Looking for Comedy succeeds smashingly both as a comedy and as a savvy deconstruction of comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 11, 2006
In Albert Brooks's new film, we get another plausible explanation of why we fight -- and it may be the most unsettling of all.
September 27, 2006
Those who like their humor wry and dry will be rewarded by a nuanced study of the way self-absorption can keep people disconnected, be they comedians, governments, or you and me.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 29, 2006
Looking For Comedy in the Muslim World is full of Albert Brooks' trademark jokes and absurd scenarios.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 28, 2006
Brooks Ú o tipo de comediante mais corajoso que existe: aquele que prefere ser considerado um fracasso pela maioria desde que, no processo, divirta alguns poucos que consigam compreender seu senso de humor sutil e auto-depreciativo.
| Original Score: 4/5
May 12, 2006
... likeable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 4, 2006
Uses Middle Eastern stereotypes only to question what could be accomplished by foolishly sending Americans into a world we don't comprehend.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 11, 2006
I like all of Brooks's features, which are brilliantly conceptualized and deftly executed. This one's no exception, and some of the laughs are genuinely cathartic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 11, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 29, 2006
I laughed my socks off. I may even have found a solid theme in all that silliness. Anyway, couldn't the world use a good laugh about now?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 26, 2006
Looking For Comedy ends up being light fare for smarter people.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.4/10
January 24, 2006
The cynicism that defined Brooks' early films has given way to hopefulness in the face of possible global catastrophe.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
January 22, 2006
Acquired-taste Brooks takes his esoteric brand of dead-pan comedy to an unlikely audience with favorable but somewhat mixed results.
Full Review
January 21, 2006
A smart comedy with dry, sardonic wit, overflowing with tons of sarcasm. It only 'bombs' when Albert is doing his stand-up act and learning all the things that the people do NOT think are funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 20, 2006
For all its silliness, Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World is also a work of integrity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 20, 2006
An affront to PC maniacs everywhere, but a considerable gift to fanatics for comedy, Albert Brooks' Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World will find its Brooksian cult niche (if not in the Muslim world).
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 6