Los Ritos sexuales del diablo (Black Candles) (Hot Fantasies) (Naked Dreams) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Los Ritos sexuales del diablo (Black Candles) (Hot Fantasies) (Naked Dreams) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
October 15, 2012
Kinky, soft-core porn with a Satanic angle.
September 17, 2012
soft core porn with some 'satanic' rituals and mumbo jumbo thrown in as an excuse for more soft core porn. I'm surprised this was released actually (there's even a goat on girl scene). Musical score is weird, acting is terrible, plot is absurd, and although I am tempted to say that some of that sex was really happening, it's still not worth seeing.
February 9, 2012
If you like your soft core porn in the form of a nonsensical early 80s Spanish horror movie about a satanic cult, then this is the movie for you.
½ October 8, 2010
sleezy satanic grindhouse sex romp .. what it has going for it is lots of kinky sex (even with animals)a few interesting kills and lots of black candles .
April 14, 2010
I'll be quick and simple with my review of Los Ritos sexuales del diablo (aka Naked Dreams in some circles of the US). The film centers around the story of a young woman who travels with her boyfriend to England after receiving word of the unexpected death of her brother. They stay with her sister-in-law in a strange manor where even stranger things are going on involving none other than a satanic cult looking to recruit more members (and probably doing some sacrificing). Honestly, you get more from the synopsis than you do from the actual movie, which is a non-stop orgy of...well...orgies. Sex scene after sex scene after sex scene of non-stop titty-sucking, pussy eating, doggystyle fucking, lesbian licking, etc etc etc. It goes on so much throughout the movie that it's very frustrating after awhile thanks to either being totally lost on the story and being subjected to lots of non-hardcore pornography. It's a wonder this film was done years later by iconic director Jose Ramon Larraz, whose similarly erotic horror film, Vampyres, packed a ton of sex and nudity, but at least it wasn't non-stop and there was still an engaging story behind it. Very surprising. I guess its cool watching all the sex and naked chicks getting graphic, but on a regular movie level, why bother? I'd much more out of real porn. Check out the much better Larraz film Vampyres instead of this goofy erotic horror film.
March 19, 2010
sexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
September 26, 2009
ummmmmm los portiogs el a sinco fuss ti ,e los ritos sexuales del diaoblo grozz zzzzz fuck the sicko moive
½ September 19, 2009
It's softcore porn. The poster is incredible but the movie is a huge bore.
May 2, 2009
Uh... for now, I will choose not to give this a star rating. I can't really tell if what I was watching was terrible or Oscar gold that never won an award, but I do know that I was not expecting what passed through my eyes- not as in a pleasant surprise, though- more like whacked-in-the-spine-with-a-board-and-nail surprise. I expected violent yet schlocky 70s british horror... what I got instead was schlocky 70s british porn. In the first 23 minutes of film, there are about 5 sex scenes, each of them quickly going from not even softcore to bordering hardcore. The first 4 sex scenes were erotic, at least somewhat-however, as soon as it got into male goat/ female human bestial bondage, I had to stop watching and try to straighten my thoughts. I might try to watch the rest of this later, but... goat sex? What the hell? I mean, really?
Note: The first 20-so minutes of film earn a 4 out of 5 for eroticism.
P.S. The dvd box I got only called the film "Black Candles"... from the packaging in which the film came, I had no way of knowing that I was going to be watching porn.
January 2, 2009
A delightful near X rated horror movie that really has no storyline...just a lot of simulated shimmy sham going on!
cancercapricorn2002
Super Reviewer
½ October 5, 2008
Well what can I say, this is a love/hate film if there ever was one and more softcore porn than horror. After the death of her brother, a woman named Carol ventures to England to pay her respects to her lost brother. Her partner Robert has also come on this excursion, so at least she isn't alone in this tragic situation. The death of her brother came as quite a shock, since it was sudden and totally unexpected. In fact, there is still some mystery around the exact cause of his passing, though Carol doubts foul play was involved. The two stay with Carol's sister-in-law, who owns a large mansion in an isolated stretch of English countryside. The house is an old and eerie one, made all the creepier by the presence of numerous occult artifacts. A lot of these items she can recognize, but some are so bizarre and strange, she has no idea what they could be used for, even in some kind of sick ritual or what not. The locals are not the kind, wholesome countryfolk she expected either, which leaves her in a state of paranoia and nervousness. Her companion Robert is intrigued by all the cult presence however, unaware of just how deep it all runs. Of course, all this strange atmosphere makes Carol want to know more about her brother's death. As she does some detective work, she stumbles across the truth and she is mortified at the result. Can she escape what seems to be a sadistic Satanic cult of total chaos?

Also known as Hot Fantasies, this movie has all the right elements for a cult picture and I mean cult as in cult. Jose Ramon Larraz (The Coming of Sin, Vampyres) has directed a wild one in Black Candles, a film which covers all the branches of deviant sexual practices. You'll see tons of naked flesh, both male and female, and softcore sex scenes, but the real spin comes when the sex gets a little taboo. Black Candles deals with forced drug use before sex, anal sex, incestual mating, massive orgies, and yes, even goat love. I know these elements are certain to offend most folks, but come on, how many movies out there go to these lengths? This is a movie about a cult of sex fiends, so you have to see a lot of sex, including some bizarre sequences that I will say you won't forget. Black Candles is also bathed in darkness and has Satanic elements around every turn. Larraz has created some great visuals here, cloaked in shadow and teeming with atmosphere. I didn't find Black Candles to be a great film, but for fans of obscure grindhouse sleaze, it is well worth a look.
½ September 21, 2008
While I have always contemplated worship Satan, this movie made me look at my cats differently...It made me want to sacrifice something and soon!.

This was great at so many levels, is difficult for me to decide which high points to give you. It is a british movie from about 1980 and is better if I list where this just is a film packed with occult coolness:

1) Nudity..LOTS OF IT!!!...there are sooooo much nudes here that might as well cast everyone based on their bodies. 70's BREASTS all around!!! and full frontal!

2) Satanic Lesbian Witches in action!..I don't think I need to expand!

3) Witch in simulated bestiality with a real live goat! (someone needed Satan's seed!)

4) Altar satanic sex sacrifices!

While it ends in your standard "was I dreaming?" scene, it doesn't matter...I want to dream that way!!!

I give this 3 1/2 horns!...because it needed blood!, blood was lacking here!
September 19, 2008
I ment the movie about the mustang, that' true
½ August 23, 2008
Simply called "BLACK CANDLES" on my DVD release and with suitably "shlocky" psuedo-horror stylings on the package... I had a completely DIFFERENT idea of the kind of film I was about to watch.

I had actually thought I was settling in for an obscure, early-eighties horror flick involving Satanic Cults, black masses and covens of witches practising all manner of witchcraftery...

Sadly, the "Horror" and "occult" elements are kept to a minimum (seriously affecting any hope for a plot...) and the film is instead, 85 minutes of highly suggestive (but ultimately) soft-core porn with slightly "Evil" overtones.

Witches have sex too, I guess.. (as do goats apparently...)

Fun to watch for all the wrong reasons... but you're unlikely to watch it a second time (if you're even able to finish watching it the first time) and there isn't a single, genuine "scare" in the flick... (well, unless you find "Back Hair" on your 70's, male soft-core porn stars "scary" !

A curiosity for real movie-fans who don't mind watching a really, really, really bad movie from time to time... (just so they can say they've seen it).

Frankly...I'm surprised I was able to even FIND this movie listed in FLIXTER. Not that it's THAT bad, it's just that there are other, much better... "obscure" films that I've looked for here and not been able to find.
July 26, 2008
A not-very-good horror flick, made in Spain just after the death of Franco, when moviemakers were testing the limits to their new freedom of expression. The storyline is a rip-off of Rosemary's Baby, but with lots of added nudity and sex scenes, including one featuring a goat (don't ask!). One for fans of Euro sleaze cinema only.
½ May 25, 2008
du cul, du cul , pis du cul avec un Ane.
Pis ca ds la premiere demi - heure.
½ February 4, 2008
This was a pretty weird flick. There were sex scenes about every 5 minutes and an interesting scene involving a goat. (This was part of the Welcome to the Grindhouse film series.)
January 27, 2008
Horror = Not interested.
Page 1 of 1