Lost Embrace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lost Embrace Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Super Reviewer
January 12, 2012
Nice visuals and good emotions drawn by the actors. Sophisticated for a comedy.
August 17, 2011
Suprisingly funny and authentic.. good pace movie that's fun to watch
½ July 26, 2010
Otra buena interpretación de Hendler... en una historia que se desarrolla en un pequeño "mundo" de personajes arquetípicos sumergidos en una cotidianeidad que tiene cierto encanto.
July 19, 2010
No aguantamos ni media hora viendola
½ December 19, 2009
Burman, nuevamente nos brinda una historia bien neurótica que apunta a la reflexión y a la busqueda constante de una identidad tanto filial como cultural. Es muy lograda la construcción de ese espacio multicultural como lo es una galeria comercial en un barrio de Buenos Aires.
February 14, 2009
interesting concept mostly well executed. the modest, focused setting provides more of a play dynamic than a movie and conveys a claustrophobic vibe that reinforces one of its central themes. and there are great supporting roles across the board --- especially Sonja. but it was hard for me to like the lead character, and that drags the whole thing down a bit.
love the Ramon vs El Peruano scene. that's inspired storytelling.
February 11, 2009
Berlin Film Festival 04' Silver Bear
January 24, 2009
Genial, como todos los de la dupla Burman-Hendler...
½ January 11, 2009
Enjoyable family comedy set in a Buenos Aires Jewish community. The central father/son narrative didn't completely work for me but the performances, direction and dialogue all worked a treat.
½ January 10, 2009
Puaj, too slow, too long, kinda boring
December 22, 2008
Wow.

Daniel Hendler keeps captivating me with his average man performances that always fall into some social/cultural group in particular, creating a unique character that almost any man in that group can relate to. From his extraordinary gay man facing the first gay marriage in Spain in Reinas to his dreamy, kind of a jerk high school slacker in 25 Watts (my favorite character in a movie, by the way) and now with his wonderful display of a bored son in search of answers about his parents' past, creating a jewish character like most of the jewish twentysomethings we actually know: forgetting about tradition and religion and trying to cope with a family environment that annoys and wracks the nerves.

The whole cast is superb but without him this would be another wannabe jewish modern masterpiece lacking on the tons of charm Hendler has to offer. Definitely one of the greatest young actors working today.

Kudos to Ariel's Grandma, a beautiful character played with dexterity and high class skills by Rosita Londner.

Unforgettable piece of cinema. One of those movies I usually fall in love with: a slice of life, painted in grey and blurred colors.

Gorgeous!
December 12, 2008
Es un film inusual de temática original. Esta película nos muestra la un poco de la búsqueda de la identidad de un joven que busca respuestas en un entorno al que parece no pertenecer y el cual no entiende del todo, en una esperanza de ir a Europa y en un padre al cual no conoce. Muy recomendable, me gusto la banda sonora y las actuaciones así como la dirección son buenas.
½ December 6, 2008
Wena actuacion, una peli de cosas simples y cotidianas... un padre que aunque no este está
November 29, 2008
I din't like it because it was so boring and absurd. It was a miracle that I didn't fall asleep while I watched it.
November 25, 2008
:rotten: [b][i]Lost Embrace lacks a worthy-telling story that gets confusing and hard to understand. The film lasted a little more than an hour and a half, it was enough time to fall asleep and sleep for a long time.[/i][/b]
November 16, 2008
Cine argentino reflexivo de ese que no necesita una mega producción para hacer cosas bien hechas que llegan justo al corazón, querer huir y terminar encontrándose en otro
½ September 1, 2008
Que tendra el cine argentino, tal vez madures? o simplemente es el reflejo de un estilo de vida? es una pelicula "sencilla" que plantea muchos interrogantes y a su manera tambien los resuelve
August 11, 2008
Entrañable pélicula argentina,de tono intimista,cercano,simple...en mi caso entregandome un sentido de pertenencia,de verse reflejado,que nunca he sentido en el cine chileno de corte politico o mal entendido transgresor por no decir ordinario en sentido amplio.
Fuera de algo de cine iberico,lo mejor que he visto en habla hispana!
June 21, 2008
Incomparable producto del cine nacional. Mi recomendacion es ver en tandem y en el siguiente orden: "Esperando el Mesias"-"El abrazo partido"-"Derecho de Familia" todas del genial Burman. Belleza, simplemente...
½ April 2, 2008
interesting and unusual little movie. My introduction to Daniel Burman.
Page 1 of 3