Lost in Space - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lost in Space Reviews

Page 1 of 5
September 17, 2014
Much of the movie plays like a live-action video game, and the sequel-ready ending feels akin to falling off a cliff. But with its appealing mix of heart and adventure, Lost in Space is great fun for children of the '60s or the '90s.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 17, 2014
The movie's father-son dynamics smack of too much therapy and some of the effects have an insubstantial computer-generated look, but the whole thing is fun for 11-year-olds of all ages.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 17, 2014
It's too long and a bit clunky, the special effects sometimes slip, and the plot seems at times to be made up as it went along. But Lost in Space remains appealing, with a great robot, a genuine sense of adventure and a good bit of ambition.
September 17, 2014
The actors are good sports. The standout, inevitably, is Gary Oldman.
September 17, 2014
It may be a toy advert first and a film second, but it's still a fairly entertaining and fun night out.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 19, 2014
I was never a big fan of the original TV show, so this movie didn't slay any sacred cows for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 7, 2011
Is any of this, you know, fun? Just barely. But I'm sure I would have loved it at 6.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 7, 2009
Big kudos to production designer Norman Garwood for making one of the coolest spaceships ever.
May 26, 2006
Usually Hollywood can't make movies that are as good as the best TV, so why not adapt bad TV shows into good movies? That's what they've done here with the new Lost in Space movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 15, 2002
Don't ask me how Lost in Space compares to the old television show; I never watched one episode. But ask me how it stacks up against the ever-growing library of effects-laden sci-fi fantasies, and I can tell you: Not too bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Lost in Space may be silly and overwrought, but it sure looks great.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 1, 2000
It has been a while since the look of a science fiction film has done much to excite me, but if this film has a hero, it is production designer Norman Garwood.
Full Review | Original Score: high +1 out of -4..+4
January 1, 2000
Able to exist on its own terms as an imaginative and active space adventure, while still catering to fans of the original
Full Review
January 1, 2000
Praise is nevertheless due to the host of effects houses responsible for hideous space spiders, a ship ominously reminiscent of Event Horizon and countless other amazing visuals.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
Lost in Space shouldn't be taken too seriously -- it's a fun journey into escapism with minimal violence and swearing, so even Grandma can experience hi-tech effects without being offended.
January 1, 2000
It's a ride, nothing more.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
Mildly entertaining outer space adventure marred by some atrocious performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 1, 2000
For cinematic junk food, it's tastier than you'd expect it to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
Despite the slimness of the story, you may just get caught up in the human drama of a family who have become truly lost.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 1, 2000
To tell the truth, we could have done a lot worse with the updated big-screen version of Lost in Space -- a whole lot worse.
Page 1 of 5