Love Actually - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Love Actually Reviews

Page 2 of 17467
December 26, 2016
"Love actually" is an amazing biopic film, based on on love stories of the film characters. Also it has some features of a romcom film. I like it, cause it has a very realistic, light and simplistic plot, closed to a real life. These stories, placed in the film, are very funny and romantic. They creat Christmas mood and provoke sense of happiness.
What aboutcharacters of the film - they are all quite different. I suppose that there are no minor characters, perhaps only Billy, who connects somehow all the characters and creat a Christmas mood throughout the film. If to speak more precisely, let's take one couple. For example David and Natalie. The first problem in their relation is that David takes a high position-he is a prime minister, whereas Natalie is just a secretary from a common family. But David likes Natalie's impulsive and spontaneous character. It's very funny to watch for them, how they try to communicate to each other, contrary to the laws of society.
To sum up, I can just say that's a cute film. There are no special effects but the plot and the couples' stories are great. Also the soundtracks to the film, Christmas songs that you can't help not to sing along.
December 25, 2016
Love is all around and Christmas is the time to let it into your life. The movie celebrates love between people of all walks of life. The cinematography is poor, shot on 35mm film. The movie is also a bit long at 135 min or at least seems that way, but a great movie for Christmas night. You should watch it at least once. It was on many favorite Christmas movie lists this year.
December 25, 2016
This is a good movie filled with humor and Xmas miracles. It's always a pleasure to see favourite actors on one stage: A. Rickman, L. Neeson, H. Grant...
Big figures like them have made a great job, creating their characters. Neeson appeared to be a good father (unlike "Taken"), Grant was perfect being minister.
This is the only romantic comedy, that have ever made me laugh (for the record - I don't like movies like this). It also brought me some Xmas spirit, which worth 5 stars already+ good soundtrack, which is not my favourite (don't like pop), but I have to admit, that they know, in which moment to use it. These components made me feel better. And, of course, Christmasy. But, I have to take one star away because of a storyline about Colin (C. Marshall), and it's too naive.
All in all, it's gonna be in my NY Movie list. If you haven't see "Love actually" - please do. You won't regret it)
December 24, 2016
Undoubtedly, everything has its pros and cons but as for me, «Love Actually» is a fantastic romantic comedy. This is a film that you should see if you feel a bit gloomy and need something to cheer you up. It contains about a dozen couples who are in love; that's an approximate figure because some of them fall out of love and others change their partners. This is a beautiful film which will make you smile and wipe your tears away in no time, I mean it))) This film includes some brilliant moments, such as the little boy who's in love and the single English guy who makes up his mind to find love in America. And he is absolutely sure that his British accent will drive girls mad)))

To tell the truth, «Love Actually» it made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me smile. It's adorable when it needs to be and also creates some drama when it's important. I really liked «Love Actually», there were hillarious characters and they weaved them all in together perfectly. I think the music is the true soul of this movie. Especially the song «Too lost in you» by Sugababes. Cheers for this music band!

I would like to distinguish three story lines of the film which have won my heart.
The first story line is the relationship between Jamie (Colin Firth) and Aurelia (Lucia Moniz). The play with the language barrier is quite clever. Firth is all sincerity and gentleness here. Moniz's exquisite charm is quite irresistible. Together, they make the most wonderful couple.
The second one is relationship between Daniel (Liam Neeson) and Sam (Thomas Sangster). I suppose that it is of great value to watch growing mutual love they share with each other. The boy is so cute at his age, however he has very mutual inner world and soul!!!
The third best story moment when was the press conference given (standing side by side) by the American President and the British Prime Minister. The moment when Hugh Grant (as the Prime Minister) finally tells the American president to his face that Britain will no longer grovel before American wishes but will have an independent view of its own - great!!!

Nevertheless, I am really shocked at all the bad reviews I have read regarding this film. I suppose that this movie is cool. I guess, maybe you need to be in the right mood for it?

To sum up, this is a movie about taking big chances, about making big gestures to show our love, and about the bigges feelings that might make us crazy and miserable but remind us that we are alive and why we are alive. In conclusion, any movie that manages to include a child dressed as a Nativity lobster, love-emergency lessons in both drums and Portuguese, and Hugh Grant dancing through the halls of 10 Downing Street to the Pointer Sisters is worth seeing at least twice.
December 24, 2016
This movie cheats. Rather than following the plot of one serious/comedic love affair, It does 10. But each story is not left in the dust by the others. In fact, each story is appropriately long (20ish minutes for each story). Even better, the stories collide together frequently in humorous but meaningful ways - the richest and the poorest all have chances and challenges with love. From your pre-teen years to your late 60s, "Love Actually" feels relateable for the whole audience. Overall, a very nifty feel-good film. (Watch out: lots of nudity)
½ December 24, 2016
13 years later and i'm the last person in the UK to see this film. Perhaps my gut instincts were not wrong, because this is awful. I smiled once and laughed zero times. It is essentially 8 Milk Tray adverts stitched together in one hideous Christmas compilation. No tale is strong enough to stand on it's own right, and poor Laura Linney/Emma Thompson are held hostage desperate to escape.
December 23, 2016
I loved this movie!!! It definitely had cheesy bits but overall it was very cute and I definitely enjoyed it and would recommend it!
December 23, 2016
The formula didn't work here. Next...
½ December 22, 2016
Great Christmas movie. I can't believe it took me this long to watch it. I loved everything about this movie and can't wait to watch it every Christmas. Awesome awesome stuff. Great Concept, Great Execution.
December 22, 2016
A decent romantic comedy.
½ December 21, 2016
Though it has some of the romance movie cliches, I can't say I didn't enjoy it.
December 20, 2016
Is it just me? I think Love Actually is a perfect movie. Loved all the stories of varieties of love, including shy, lecherous, and parental, and all the touches typical of the British comic tradition.
December 20, 2016
Delightful romantic comedy that is excellent for the most part but suffers from too many characters & subplots. The cast is uniformly excellent, the highlights being Hugh Grant as a befuddled new Prime Minister & Emma Thompson as a wife who discovers her husband is having an affair (her breakdown scene is one of the highlights of her distinguished career). The scene stealer, though, is Bill Nighy as an aging rocker dealing with having produced a cheesy Christmas song & deciding not to hide how he feels about it. Behind the camera, writer/director Richard Curtis crafts a fun 'romantic comedy epic', intertwining the various stories in natural ways while exploring everything from first crushes to adultery. Unfortunately, he has too many characters & plots that drags the film down a bit. Two in particular, one involving a Brit traveling to the United States to hook up with American girls, while another involving body doubles for a sex scene in a film, could have easily been cut. Plus, the material should have been toned down to PG-13, considering a main story is a young boy declaring his love to his first crush. Overall, still a fun, romantic movie and a great addition to the holiday film rotation.
December 16, 2016
Fantastic film, in all details. Getting better every time I view it.
December 13, 2016
I signed up just to make this comment. I can't let one of my top 10 go down with such average reviews. This is not just a chick flick it is truly touching offset by Bill Nighy's great counter as the cynical rock star. None of the actors falls down and most exceed the mark. After several viewings I still love it and there are few films I can watch twice. It is star packed so one of you favs is probably in it. There are only nine other movies in my top 10 and this one is not close to getting bumped.
½ December 12, 2016
I hated this movie with all of my being. The movie trailer was so deceiving. It not only made it look better than it actually was, but it was so wrong and disturbing in so many ways. People having affairs and stealing/falling in love with other people. People are chearing on eachother and you're making it look like it's ok, no big deal. We could have done without the porn, thanks. This was the beginning of the concept (deep sarcastic voice) "hey, let's just throw a whole bunch of famous people in one movie with so many different stories thay somehow all connect and it'll be awesome" sort of thing. This started the bismal chain reaction of many others like it suchas: He's Just Not That Into You (which was surprisingly better than this movie) Valentine's Day, New Year's Eve.....
By the way, I hate the stereotype that all women love this movie. It was predictable in so many ways, and the way that poor girl's family treated her, basically caling her ugly and fat. There are cardinal rules broken throughout the movie. Some of these couples didn't even make sense. Just, don't waste your time. It was stupid. The only 2 good things was you got to see Rick from Walking Dead not covered in dirt, sweat, and blood, and the girl's voice at the end of the movie. It was a great song, but probably the most played Christmas song of the decade. If I could give negative stars, I so would, this movie sucks! Practically literally thanks to the awkward porn scenes.
December 11, 2016
I LOVE< LOVE< LOVE this move, I actualy love this movie!
December 10, 2016
This movie sucked my wife in but left me gasping for air! I had to drink eight 6% cider beers to dull my mind long enough to forget where I was. This movie gets half way through and I ran out of beer..fml.. I'm leaving review to save the rest of you. Save your sel....... ughsnsjm.......run....
.................oh its over thank GOD!
December 10, 2016
Christmas movies should be sugary. No violence, no dark humor.
December 10, 2016
LOVE ACTUALLY is a movie that is difficult for me to review because the tone of the film is so moody, it could only have been made in Britain or Italy. It's a smorgasboard of extreme, polarized emotions- it's either really happy and carefree, or really sad and depressing.

But there is a problem here. I can't take this movie seriously, and it falls into that rare category of being a movie that isn't my kind of movie. The naivety of this movie is so condescending that it is almost infuriating.

LOVE ACTUALLY is one of the moodiest and most temperamental movies I have ever seen. This movie is really sugary, cloying, annoying and somewhat tacky. The best way to describe it is that's an engineered puffball of a movie. The charm factor is very high and the cast are a lot of fun to watch. But it's not a movie I would like to watch too often- it's a lot to take in. I admire it because the writing is very good and a lot of the performances are very good.

But I hardly have any respect for this movie because for that aformentioned reason, I can't take this film that seriously- it's such a cloying and sugary experience that it nearly drove me to madness. There's no point. It's easy to get lost in the world of this movie- and that's why so many people love this movie.
Page 2 of 17467