Love Don't Cost a Thing - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Love Don't Cost a Thing Reviews

Page 1 of 4
December 12, 2003
A charmless, Afro-centric spin on Can't Buy Me Love.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
December 10, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 19, 2003
The African-American film community deserves better than a mediocre comedy pulled from the cinematic icebox.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
December 9, 2003
An atrociously unfunny, unromantic, and unpleasant product.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
December 11, 2003
Awkward and unpleasant, even smarmy, particularly offensive in a movie for this age group.
Read More | Original Score: D
December 25, 2010
Missed opportunity full of dubious messages.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
December 31, 2003
If you tried to be in the "in" crowd -- then this is going to be even more painful. In fact, even if you're in the "in" crowd, you'll find this painful.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
December 15, 2003
... dopey sit com stuff ...
December 12, 2003
This awkwardly directed version takes way too long to get where we knew it was going the whole time.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 15, 2003
As its $6.5 million take at the box office this weekend proves, even the equivalent of a bad TV movie can't keep teenagers away from movie theaters.
December 9, 2003
It's unclear why a remake of 1987's Can't Buy Me Love was necessary.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 15, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: D-
December 19, 2003
This hip-hop flavored remake of 1987's Can't Buy Me Love is woefully botched on every level.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 12, 2009
"Love Don't Cost A Thing" is loosely based on the 1987 teen comedy "Can't Buy Me Love," and fails to improve on that tepid movie by using a milieu of black high school students.
Full Review | Original Score: D
December 25, 2003
If you remake a mediocre movie, you get another mediocre movie.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
December 12, 2003
For the most part, the characters and situations are stock and cliched.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
December 11, 2003
Clunky direction is spiced with distracting visual affectation and leering displays of the cleavage and bare midriffs and derrieres that remain barely within PG-13 boundaries.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 12, 2003
Shallow, fickle people doing stupid things... and those are the characters we're supposed to be rooting for.
April 15, 2004
...the movie borders on cruelty to its audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
December 11, 2003
The direction is pedestrian and slipshod.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 4