Love Is Colder Than Death - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Love Is Colder Than Death Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ June 10, 2016
Stark arthaus cinema with a glimpse of would be criminals. They exist mostly in boring moments while the audience is left outside their passions - forever waiting to be drawn in.
½ May 23, 2016
good crime dram-rom-com
Super Reviewer
½ November 22, 2015
An interesting debut but ultimately a tad bland.
March 3, 2014
With inheritance from Alain Delon in Le Samouraï and influenced filmmakers such as Béla Tarr and Jim Jarmusch, Love Is Colder Than Death is indeed of significance as we are introduced to the cursed world of Fassbinder. However, I am not at all amused at the heavy electronic music, nor care what happened to the protagonists.
½ January 2, 2014
Very self-conscious in its attempts to be a cool Nouvelle Vague gangster picture, but the stark black and white compositions are frequently beautiful, especially for a first film. And after watching a few of his films I'm coming to appreciate Fassbinder's apparently sharp eye for a great pair of tits. The women in his movies seem to always have amazing bodies, which is downright impressive for a gay man. Even if you think his movies are boring, they're always easy on the eye.
½ January 14, 2013
For a first film, Love is Colder than Death is fairly solid. It has all of the nuances of a Fassbinder flick, but without the sweaty passion and colorful visualization (Even his black and white films can be colorful).
December 5, 2012
Fassbinder's austere & stark debut, Feel the coldness & the blankness & of course beware of a jealous whore!! I actually liked this a bit better than Godard's Breathless
rubystevens
Super Reviewer
September 14, 2012
fassbinder's first feature gets off to a difficult start showing perhaps a bit too much of his roots in experimental theater. however i was soon hooked into it's existential gangster narrative, with fassbinder himself playing a tough guy in his favorite leather jacket. the bank heist at the end seems almost an afterthought. a kind of deconstruction of godard's 'bande à part'
September 5, 2012
It's a derivative French New Wave film with the budget of a film student. It's all cool macho style with nothing to say. I give Fassbinder a pass on this one because it's his first.
March 21, 2012
Fassbinder's stark debut examines nihilist criminals!!
½ January 27, 2012
There aren't enough involving moments in the first hour to make this recommendable on the whole. It does build a sense of foreboding in several nicely done long takes in the last third, but that seems to be done almost in spite of itself. Too much of the film is mired by investigation and evocation of ennui, which is extremely hard to pull off. It's also not helpful that Fassbinder hadn't yet discovered some of his most effective techniques, masterful use of color and lighting being two of them.
November 22, 2011
El Amor es Más Frío que la Muerte es una pelicula que se siente muy moderna, aun cuando fue hecha hace mas de 40 años, la imagen visula es interesante, la composicion es muy planificada y ensayada, aumentando el dramatismo de las tomas, la historia principal es simple, pero el sub plot es muy interesante al confrontarnos con preguntas acerca del por que de las acciones de sus protagonistas. Los celos, los deseos, las dualidades, son cosas que no se ven a simple vista o no son apreciados por todos, pero definitivamente estan ahi.
½ January 26, 2011
Jules et Jim meets Breathless.
½ December 31, 2010
I prefer Reiner's films on society to the gangster ones... nothing special for me.
½ November 3, 2010
This film is of uttermost historical importance. It has a supermarket sequence, where one learns that there were no conveyor belts on the check-out in 1969 in Munich yet: Bitte Waren durchschieben!
It has some magnificent suburban and peripheral scenery of Munich in the end of the sixties.
There is an inside office of a bank, with armchairs and flyers, and a game parlor. And, of course, Schygulla's body. Highly recommended. Surely, one can be annoyed by absence of blood and the artificiality of death, but I am sure there is a perfectly sane explanation for that.
July 6, 2010
one hell of a mess. very amateurish in every aspects (acting,script,editing,etc). It is worth to know how Fassbender could bounce back and becoming one of the most impprtant director of German cinema after this film
½ May 7, 2010
RW Fassbinder's first film at 23, a touch of Godard's "Band Of Outsiders", Melville's "Le Samourai", a gay subtext, and extremely long shots of nothing happening. An art film? Yes, but "art" doesn't always qualify as "good". Fassbinder had theater training, and it certainly shows here, but he was still new with the camera, and standards of film. Pretty limiting and bland start to his film career. And also for actor Ulli Lummell, who would create some really really bad movies on his own as a director. I guess it's worth a look to see where Fassbinder started, and I would recommend watching the documentary "End Of The Commune?" immediately afterward.
January 26, 2010
Directoral debut by Fassbinder seems like a piece from the French new wave kind of like an early Melville film. The film is about a pimp, one of his girls, and a gangster as they go on a killing spree. Sounds like a run of the mill gangster film and it is, but it's filled with traces of the genius to come from Fassbinder like the dead silence and a lot of focus on nothing.
arashxak
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2010
Fassbinder's austere & stark debut, Feel the coldness & the blankness & of course beware of a jealous whore!! I actually liked this a bit better than Godard's Breathless
Page 1 of 3