Love, Marilyn - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Love, Marilyn Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 17, 2013
Monroe's writing is beautifully succinct, but the cast deliver it with such mannered intensity that it comes across like the worst of Monroe's performances ...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 29, 2012
[A] well-intentioned but clumsy attempt to get into the head of one of the 20th century's most famous women ...
April 4, 2013
Do any fresh revelations or insights remain, a half century past Monroe's overdose death at age 36?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 30, 2012
It was a mistake to ask anyone to dramatically read a chicken recipe Monroe prepared for Joe DiMaggio (one of her husbands), or some of the other scribbles included here.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 27, 2012
The life and work of that beautiful, bashful blond Marilyn Monroe are dissected once more in this annoyingly pleased-with-itself documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 27, 2012
Fifty years after her death, the actress's corpse is still being picked over with ever-diminishing returns, as evidenced in Liz Garbus's garish, misguided documentary Love, Marilyn.
Top Critic
September 9, 2012
I wanted to like this project more than I did; it's such an interesting idea and such a fine lineup of actresses.
November 30, 2012
Say and film what you like about her, even in this somewhat wrongheaded if worshipful film portrait, Marilyn Monroe still triumphs just by being herself.
April 5, 2013
The monologues are like exercises from the star's beloved Actors Studio, performances of emotional facets. For the most part these are effectively stark, tender, childlike and raw.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 29, 2012
The intelligence and dynamism of Ms. Garbus's approach could hardly fail to make you appreciate Monroe's growth as an actor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 3, 2012
Monroe's vulnerability and sense of inadequacy, her frustration and solitude, come through poignantly.
October 8, 2013
It doesn't provide blinding new insight into Monroe's life but it is filled with less familiar newsreel footage and decent movie clips and has some brief, invaluable glimpses of a troubled inner life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 15, 2013
This intelligent, sensitive doc gets a bit pretentious as today's stars read Monroe's words.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 28, 2012
I realized not just how much we don't know about Marilyn Monroe but how a lot of what we think we know is more of a construct than a reality.
Full Review | Original Score: A
December 13, 2012
A heartfelt and well-intentioned love letter to an already deeply beloved star, and for anyone who's still not convinced, the picture works hard to make the case for Monroe's gifts as an actress.
April 4, 2013
Garbus' use of Monroe's own words are plenty wrenching at times but they don't add much to our collective understanding of either the enduring myth or the truth about the damaged woman who existed behind that sexpot fašade.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
April 5, 2013
Remove the comma from the title and Love, Marilyn plays like the command it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 5, 2013
By the end of the film, we learn just about everything about Monroe was self-created, which somehow makes the eventual self-destruction a little more understandable, and her life story a cautionary meditation on the booby-traps of celebrity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 15, 2013
Garbus is able to re-stitch Monroe's life in a most compelling and original manner.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 14, 2013
If not quite on the level of Garbus's terrific Bobby Fischer documentary, this is still filled with fond recollections of Mazza's life and career. Fans will relish it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2