Love, Marilyn - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Love, Marilyn Reviews

October 15, 2013
This intelligent, sensitive doc gets a bit pretentious as today's stars read Monroe's words.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 5, 2013
Remove the comma from the title and Love, Marilyn plays like the command it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 4, 2013
Do any fresh revelations or insights remain, a half century past Monroe's overdose death at age 36?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 13, 2012
A heartfelt and well-intentioned love letter to an already deeply beloved star, and for anyone who's still not convinced, the picture works hard to make the case for Monroe's gifts as an actress.
December 3, 2012
Monroe's vulnerability and sense of inadequacy, her frustration and solitude, come through poignantly.
November 30, 2012
It was a mistake to ask anyone to dramatically read a chicken recipe Monroe prepared for Joe DiMaggio (one of her husbands), or some of the other scribbles included here.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 29, 2012
The intelligence and dynamism of Ms. Garbus's approach could hardly fail to make you appreciate Monroe's growth as an actor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 29, 2012
[A] well-intentioned but clumsy attempt to get into the head of one of the 20th century's most famous women ...
November 28, 2012
I realized not just how much we don't know about Marilyn Monroe but how a lot of what we think we know is more of a construct than a reality.
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 27, 2012
Fifty years after her death, the actress's corpse is still being picked over with ever-diminishing returns, as evidenced in Liz Garbus's garish, misguided documentary Love, Marilyn.
November 27, 2012
The life and work of that beautiful, bashful blond Marilyn Monroe are dissected once more in this annoyingly pleased-with-itself documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
September 9, 2012
I wanted to like this project more than I did; it's such an interesting idea and such a fine lineup of actresses.