Love N' Dancing - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Love N' Dancing Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Sean Gandert
Paste Magazine
June 17, 2009
The bottom line is that a few pretty dances aren't enough substance to make for a fulfilling, or even moderately entertaining movie when the rest of the material is so weak.
Full Review | Original Score: 23/100
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
May 11, 2009
I'd say Love 'n Dancing felt like an after-school special about overcoming disabilities and being the best you can be, but I fear I'd be doing a disservice to after school specials.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
May 11, 2009
From the acting, to the music, to most importantly, the dancing everything feels amateur in this film.
Top Critic
Robert Abele
Los Angeles Times
May 8, 2009
It is unfortunate when someone with a history of staging musical numbers and directing musical sequences can't make dialogue scenes flow.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
May 8, 2009
Seems more like a dance studio's infomercial than a romantic comedy.
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
May 7, 2009
If you cut the extraneous parts of Love n' Dancing -- you know, all the ones except for the dancing scenes -- it might not be a half-bad movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Chuck Wilson
L.A. Weekly
May 7, 2009
Everyone moves beautifully, yet director Robert Iscove keeps such a coolly professional distance from the dancers that we never feel their heat.
Top Critic
Bill Goodykoontz
Arizona Republic
May 7, 2009
The film starts out as an empowerment story, gravitates toward romantic drama, has bits of lame comedy, and, of course, there's the dancing. Something for everyone, presumably, just none of it very good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Peter Debruge
Variety
May 7, 2009
Bland as its title, Love N' Dancing extends the cliches of the dance-and-romance genre -- so overplayed that it's targeted for a Wayans brothers spoof later this month -- to the world of West Coast Swing.
Geoff Berkshire
Metromix.com
May 7, 2009
How did it wind up in theaters? Even as a limited release? That's a mystery far more intriguing than anything on screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
April 2, 2009
Instantly likeable, especially if you like dancing and this originally jazz-derivative but now pop/rock driven style
Page 1 of 1