Lovely & Amazing - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lovely & Amazing Reviews

Page 2 of 7
December 14, 2002
All of us wish we could feel we are lovely & amazing, if only to one person. It's about this wish, and about how we prevent it as well.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/5
December 8, 2002
I can't think of a bad scene in the entire film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 16, 2002
Everyone's insecure in Lovely and Amazing, a poignant and wryly amusing film about mothers, daughters and their relationships.
November 11, 2002
A brutal and funny work. Nicole Holofcenter, the insightful writer/director responsible for this illuminating comedy doesn't wrap the proceedings up neatly but the ideas tie together beautifully.
October 30, 2002
Brilliantly acted independent film with a terrific cast and a superb script that features perhaps what is destined to be the most talked-about scene of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 15, 2002
A startling film, beautifully crafted by a filmmaker with a hunger to tell the truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 30, 2002
Transcends the 'chick flick' label with a touch so light and smart it never has to bother trying to win over your sympathies to either sex.
September 18, 2002
These are funny, real people who, for all their faults, never give up and never break down. They react with self-deprecating humor to all the woes in their lives. They truly are lovely and amazing, and so is this film.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 12, 2002
...sort of comes off like a Mike Leigh film absent the excoriating honesty
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: C+
September 9, 2002
By the end of it all I sort of loved the people onscreen, even though I could not stand them. Perhaps the film should be seen as a conversation starter. It's not an easy one to review.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
August 24, 2002
This humorous probe into the lives of four members of an unusual family hits all the right body spots.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 20, 2002
Well to the bitter end of the bittersweet spectrum, it labours under a strangely oppressive cloudy sky of emotional discontent.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 14, 2002
Beautifully acted, especially by Catherine Keener, Lovely and Amazing is indeed a little lovely, a little amazing and completely satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 12, 2002
A wonder, a quiet movie filled with subtle truths and scenes of power and authenticity.
Full Review | Original Score: A
August 12, 2002
This unassuming comedy-drama catches you off guard with its astute observations and detailed characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 9, 2002
Darkly funny and affecting story.
Read More | Original Score: 9/10
August 3, 2002
Part of the long, noble tradition (at least since the '90s) of talky, ensemble-driven American indies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 2, 2002
...intelligent and mature...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 29, 2002
Holofcener has crafted a comedy which acknowledges not just our neuroses about our bodies, but also the messy, ambivalent complexities of adult family relationships.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 27, 2002
A fully-developed, superlative character study.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 2 of 7