Lovely & Amazing - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lovely & Amazing Reviews

Page 1 of 7
January 27, 2013
Read More | Original Score: B
January 2, 2011
Mature story about relationships and family.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 2, 2009
Seldom do movies create focus through spontaneity, but Lovely & Amazing feeds on surprise
| Original Score: 4.5/5
April 29, 2009
Exceeded all my expectations.
August 7, 2008
This serio-comic family portrait about self-absorption, self-esteem and family dynamics is excellently acted but more blatantly offbeat than dramatic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 14, 2007
Actresses beware. Catherine Keener is quietly cornering the market on self-assured, sharp-tongued feminism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 30, 2006
Who'd have thought spending 90 minutes with a bunch of neurotic women could be such fun? An intelligent, unassuming drama that's never less than enjoyable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 9, 2006
Observed without corny resolutions and paced to allow for reflection, the film is understated but spot on.
October 7, 2004
I can't imagine why a guy would go to this movie. That is, unless he talks to me or some other guy who has seen it. Because it's one of the best films I've seen this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
June 25, 2004
Captures the body-image insecurities of women while delving more than skin-deep into her characters' psyches.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 19, 2004
As in Walking and Talking, her comic lament on the evils that brides do to their maids of honor, [Nicole] Holofcener strikes a careful balance between distaff divertissement and stark, semiautobiographical realism.
March 2, 2004
Not long enough to be a 'message movie', but insightful enough to hold our attention while exploring the lives of these characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 71/100
June 19, 2003
Michelle isn't an easy woman to relate to let alone like, yet as the film progresses I was drawn more and more towards her inner warmth and charm discovering pieces of myself in her own persona.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 13, 2003
There are a lot of deeper issues in this film that most films don't focus and it's a credit to Holofcener that she brings it out.
March 26, 2003
After this, you'd like to think that the studios might let Holofcener turn her attention to a few more US TV shows. They need talents like her.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 28, 2003
A refreshing reminder that not every movie about women must be a hollow, empty, self-indulgent 'chick flick.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 10, 2003
"Lovely and Amazing is a story about real people. These people are insecure about their lives. They aren't convinced that there's some inner beauty about them. They see themselves as I suspect most people do, mostly for the flaws. However, these are still
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 10, 2003
A film I enjoyed, but not necessarily for exemplary artistic merit.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 16, 2002
Another one of those estrogen overdose movies like "Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood," except that the writing, acting and character development are a lot better.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 14, 2002
All of us wish we could feel we are lovely & amazing, if only to one person. It's about this wish, and about how we prevent it as well.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 7