Lovely & Amazing - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lovely & Amazing Reviews

Page 1 of 10
January 10, 2016
Really great film, teaches a lesson and feels good while you are involved in the story, I really like Catherine Keener as an actress and she really doesn't disappoint in this movie.
November 9, 2015
Slow, boring, pointless.
We follow around a couple of sad, pathetic, self-absorbed people and essentially nothing happens for the entire movie. There is no hidden meaning, no profound metamorphosis, no take home message. Just a big waste of an hour and a half I could have spent watching a better movie.
May 24, 2015
Nicole Holofcener's intelligent and realistically crafted film remains a quietly powerful character study of women coping through individual and shared life challenges. It is unique in that it manages to confront some very uncomfortable topics in cleverly casual ways. Every member of the cast from the major leads to the most minor of characters give outstanding work.
½ January 23, 2015
A wonderful ensemble cast led by Catherine Keener gives us a little slice of life story that's just a charming tale from start to finish, and I'm happy to have finally had the chance to give it a second look.

Well worth a rental.
January 4, 2015
The character of the mother with her adopted daughter ruins the movie.
November 16, 2014
Jordan: Do you have alot of friends?
Michelle Marks: No, actually I think people are too self-involved.

Ultimamente me he encontrado atraída hacia las películas de la directora Nicole Holofcener. La manera como escribe sus personajes femeninos es única, ya que rompe todos los estereotipos en el cine. Las mujeres son complicadas, y cuando cometen errores, son tomadas responsables por ellos, pero igualmente sin importar la cantidad de fallas que tengan, siempre existe una faceta humana que las hace atractiva a los espectadores.

Lovely & Amazing habla acerca de la relación entre una madre y sus dos hijas. Jane -la matriarca- está llena de inseguridades, y decide someterse a una liposucción, con esperanzas de que su médico se enamore de ella. Michelle la hermana mayor está casada con un hombre que no la entiende ni a ella ni a sus proyectos artísticos, y quisiera que consiguiera un trabajo real. A raíz de esto empieza a trabajar en una tienda que revela fotografías y se involucra con un joven de 17 años que la hace sentir adorada. Por último Elizabeth la hermana menor es una actriz que lucha por conseguir papeles, pero su agente no la apoya exactamente. Por su carrera, está plagada de inseguridades ya que las expectativas sobre su apariencia son altas. Al terminar su relación por esta misma razón, conoce a un actor igualmente superficial que ella, y se para en frente a él completamente desnuda y le pide que enumere todas sus fallas. Esta es una de las escenas más poderosas de la película. También falta incluir a la última hermana, una afroamericana que la matriarca adopta para no sentirse sola. Annie a pesar de ser una niña es dura y no deja que ninguna crítica la afecte, pero igual está pasando por el proceso de sentirse fuera de lugar en esta familia.

Lovely & Amazing como todas las películas de Holofcener es tan realista que a veces duele, porque es inevitable verse reflejada en algunas escenas. Todos los diálogos parecieran conversaciones de la vida real entre estos personajes. Keener que interpreta Michelle, se redime a la final cuando finalmente se hace responsable por sus acciones cuando es llevada presa por violación de menores. Keener muestra una faceta distinta, más cruel a la perfección, y es siempre agradable verla en pantalla por su naturalidad, aunque en esta película fue difícil defenderla. Emily Mortimer es increíble en esta película. Especialmente la escena donde se desnuda, su vulnerabilidad me impresionó.

Lovely & Amazing crea toda una trama alrededor de estas interacciones femeninas. Excede su cometido y nos entrega un retrato realista y complejo que derriba todo estereotipo posible.
June 22, 2014
Excellent second film from Holfcener which manages to be franker, funnier and more emotional than her first. Woody Allen would have be proud.
½ February 23, 2014
So fun... I always love a good Nicole film. Hashtag charm!
½ December 16, 2013
More Like Bland & Boring. I Went To Sleep..
½ November 3, 2013
far from being lovely or amazing. there weren't any likable characters which made it the viewing somewhat bleaker and drearier.
not a "dysfunctional -fun/funny" kinda movie; got me a lil pissed off after for watching it.
June 10, 2013
Really witty, funny, and down to earth script.
May 19, 2013
3/5 More honest than any big Hollywood movie (refreshing), but still just a boring slice of life indie.
April 28, 2013
It is a lovely and amazingly well done character study of four women facing the facts of their lives and dealing with all the pros and cons of the contemporary world. Personally, I found myself absorbed by the realism and tenderness displayed through the interactions of the characters, and also by the eloquency of the script, the way it communicates this type of tiny revelations of life that you hardly find in movies. Catherine Keener, Emily Mortimer, Brenda Blethyn and Raven Goodwin are simply wonderful in their respective roles.
February 6, 2013
I enjoyed this film despite the fact that I didn't really like any of the characters which is unusual I suppose. The performances were all good, Catherine Keener a favourite again, but I did not enjoy this as much as Nicole Holofcener's previous film to this one, Walking and Talking.
November 23, 2012
Ruthless and depressing, but all the while achingly beautiful. So is the case with the reality of being female, isn't it? With a perfect cast and an unpretentious dialog, this is a film of substance rather than an entertaining picture. It dives into the disturbed characters of a mother and her 3 daughters, their relationships with the people in their lives and with each other, and their failure to have ever come of age.
½ November 13, 2012
Lovely & Amazing goes to the heart -- and face, and skin -- of a subject that's sure to ring true with women, and may even educate men.
May 17, 2012
A refreshing reminder that not every movie about women must be a hollow, empty, self-indulgent chick flick.
Super Reviewer
January 13, 2012
Has a Mike Leigh film to it. Perhaps that is because of Brenda Blethyn but who knows. Nonetheless it was the belle of the ball at the 2001 TIFF and rightfully so. A good film in a horribly memorable festival.
½ January 12, 2012
I've given this film an extra point just for having Jake Gyllenhaal to look at!
October 22, 2011
Pretty OK film especially for women in their 30s.. :)
Page 1 of 10