Love's Labour's Lost - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Love's Labour's Lost Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 1, 2011
A noble experiment that didn't quite work out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 18, 2008
It may not be 'hip', but it's definitely enjoyable and it's a shame that there isn't more scope for genuine musical talents like Lester to utilise their gifts in modern cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 6, 2008
A luscious labor of love.
July 6, 2008
We all know who's going to pair off with whom in the end, but Branagh does get us there in some considerable style.
February 9, 2006
An act of double homage to antique artifice.
December 6, 2005
Alicia Silverstone was better as Batgirl than in this piece of garbage. I don't think she even understood what she was saying.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
April 9, 2005
Branagh takes one of Shakespeare's lesser-known plays and puts his own imaginative spin on the subject.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 21, 2004
Maybe Kenneth Branagh should have left the Hollywood musical where he found it, back in the 1930s.
June 6, 2003
Devices meant to keep Shakespeare user-friendly instead reduce the story to a jumble.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
May 14, 2003
Casting Silverstone as the princess gives final proof of Branagh's temporary (one hopes) insanity.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
January 10, 2003
Love's Labour's Lost wasn't lost on me at all; if I could float into the air, singing 'Cheek to Cheek' with total, unabashed sincerity, I probably would.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 22, 2002
It's a delightful blend of past styles and songs that adds a much-needed zest to a dry and dreary movie season.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 5, 2002
Branagh covers all the plot points, uses heroically long takes for the dance numbers and oversees an enormously talented group of designers and costumers.
April 3, 2002
It's never hugely engaging and it's instantly forgettable, but it has a certain goofy charm...
Read More | Original Score: C+
March 24, 2002
A masterpiece that merges the Bard's bittersweet wisdom with the wit, style, and idealism of '30s Hollywood musicals.
March 13, 2002
A delightful romantic comedy with musical numbers by Cole Porter, Irving Berlin and George Gershwin.
March 7, 2002
The most exultant epiphany of romantic celebration I've seen in a film--ever.
Full Review | Original Score: short
February 28, 2002
Might have worked a little better on stage, and with a few different actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 28, 2002
A number of the actors surprise and beguile.
December 10, 2001
Branagh has some terrific sight gags up his sleeve, and the songs themselves are absolutely wonderful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 4