Lush Life - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lush Life Reviews

Page 1 of 1
January 15, 2019
Here's the thing. This is a made-for-TV movie, so it has that look to it. But as a film, it's sublime. The story is beautiful, the characters are genuine, and it's immersed in authentic musician dialogue and banter that I wonder if Lennie Niehaus co-wrote the script as well as writing the soundtrack. The two leads are completely compelling and believable...to the point that you'd swear FW was actually playing that trumpet. This movie didn't even make a splash when it came out, but I'm so happy to see it has an 81% rating on here because it deserves that and more. And the fact that there is no critics ratings - coz the critics are busy jerking themselves off rating blockbusters and artistically profound movies :)
½ January 27, 2013
the music is great too.
August 25, 2011
This movie has perhaps the best character driven story I've ever seen and, although I can't really say that I have a single favorite movie, this movie is in my top five movies of all time. This movie is extremely underrated!! You'd almost absolutely have to find this online or rent it to see this movie. Good luck finding it on cable...

I also take pride in the fact that when I first searched for this movie on Flixster they didn't have it! I had to find it on imdb to confirm the actors that were in the film & with a picture I submitted it to them they added this movie to their site bc I requested it!

I'm so proud of myself...
July 2, 2011
I was in the right mood for this one. Mellow. It was phenomenal.
Super Reviewer
½ January 24, 2009
I'm not a jazz fan, but this movie was really touching. Everyone that has a friend like that is extremely lucky.
½ July 6, 2008
the music is great too.
June 27, 2008
Me gusto el manejo que se le dio, diferente a otras peliculas que pudieran tener similitudes en el tema, buena musica y buenas interpretaciones. Pero siento que algo le falto para que pudiese ser de mis favoritas.
November 19, 2007
Impossible to find. I bought a copy on ebay cuz I had to have it. Lots of great jazz, and when JG get's the trumpet for Buddy at the end...
Page 1 of 1