Luxo Jr. - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Luxo Jr. Reviews

Page 1 of 4
October 17, 2016
Going right back to Pixar's beginnings, Luxo Jr shows that even in1986, when almost everyone else was doing "serious projects" as they tried to master computer animation, Pixar was trying - and succeeding - to be funny and bringing to life the most unlikely of things. Not surprisingly, Luxo Jr became the company's mascot and appears in its logo to this day.
May 8, 2016
Simple but effective short that probably looked well ahead of its time when released in the 80's.
½ June 27, 2015
There's something real magical about one of the shorts that started it all.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
July 21, 2014
Effective Pixar animated short, Luxo Jr. paved the way for the studio to be able to create some full length feature films that would put the studio on the map. If you enjoy their full length features, this is well worth seeing as; this is where things started to take off for Pixar. The short has a relatively simple plot, and it works well enough to appeal to anyone of all ages. Above all, Luxo Jr. Warrants a merit in sheer creativity as it would break new ground in computer animation. The short film would feature lamps, of one that would feature later in the now famous Pixar logo. Although a two minute affair, Luxo Jr. Is enjoyable for what it is, and it's a testament to the sheer creativity that would go in the making of full length feature films from the studio. If you enjoy Pixar's full length's, then you ought to check this short out, as this is where things really fell into place after years of experimenting with other projects. Luxo Jr. Is a simple affair, but one that stands out due to the fact that it paved the way for what you could do in terms of computer animated effects and other possibilities. Pixar hit on a great formula, and with that at their disposal, they would later release their debut full length feature film Toy Story in 1995, and they would reinvent the way films would be made. Luxo Jr. Isn't special in terms of story, but it does stand out in terms of creativity, and with that being said, Pixar would later prove themselves time and time again with each new animated feature film.
May 3, 2014
A cool little short that explains why Pixar has the lamp in their logo. Definitely worth checking out.
November 30, 2013
The logo for Walt Disney is Luxo Jr. Wow, I'm welling up with tears
November 29, 2013
It was a really great and very entertaining Pixar animated short. It had really great animation, great characters, very great visuals, really great music and a very simple story. It's one of the best Pixar animated shorts ever made. I've seen this movie before "Toy Story 2." I will recommend this short movie to both kids and adults.
July 31, 2013
I remember watching this as a kid love it!
½ May 3, 2013
If The Adventures of André and Wally B. was a warm up then Luxo Jr. is way nearer to the main event for John Lasseter. It looks way ahead of its time, even though it is basic this still looks better than most 80s stuff. It is inventive and mischievously funny.
January 30, 2013
The start of Pixar, Luxo Jr. ignited what would become some of the most inspirational computer artwork on the planet. The story is simplistic and so straight forward.
January 1, 2013
wow this is Pixar's first animation so that's why Pixar has a hopping lamp for their logo, I absolutely adore this film it's so funny, I love it and I want all Pixar's short movies on DVD
August 31, 2012
Pixar's mascot is just too cute.
August 24, 2012
Pixar's first true short film and still a classic today.
July 1, 2012
this his movie is pixar ?
½ April 25, 2012
One of my favorite Pixar short films, it's so fantastic and wonderful it immediately puts a smile on your face. 4.5/5
January 2, 2012
Pixar's logo comes from this short film, which is an excellent little story with no dialogue about a father and son...who are lamps. It is an excellent little story that is simple, funny, and a little sad too...it has that heart that would become the cornerstone of Pixar in its future. One of the best shorts the company made prior to their movie to feature length films.
October 22, 2011
Everytime i see this i think it's perfect for what it is and that there's little to no fault in it. All you can expect is that it will be the same the next time you see it as there's nothing similar.
August 4, 2011
Short animated fun, the (sort of) beginning of Pixar
June 24, 2011
The music matches the action perfectly.
June 24, 2011
A classic Pixar short film that shows how Pixar first got their roots. This also is a great way to explain why Pixar has a hopping lamp in their logo.
Page 1 of 4