Ma Mere - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ma Mere Reviews

Page 1 of 14
Super Reviewer
½ July 22, 2016
Despite how flat it seems at first, this French film is so provocative and perverse that I'm afraid there won't be too many people getting its point, and I love how it explores the vulnerability of Garrel's character through his constant nudity and overflowing sexual desire.
July 6, 2016
After his father dies, volatile Pierre stays with his sexually fiendish mother where she shows him the ways of depravity. Very dull, pretentious, and unpleasant with amateur and awkward cinematography.
March 21, 2015
While it lacks from human touch, '' Ma mère'' achieve it's purpose: disturb, and it's quality is incremented by Huppert's performance.
½ January 12, 2015
This film looks at taboo subjects honestly. I do not like films that profess to be erotic or to portray sexual subjects while showing explicit female nudity but not male. In Ma Mere this is not the case. As such it is, in my opinion, far more equitable then "The Dreamer" by Bertolucci which shows no frontal male nudity and thus is heterosexist and sexist. Ma Mere is not this. Kudos to an open fearless exploration.
December 31, 2013
Horrible film, the story is so disgusting i couldn't believe it. A son falls in love with his wicked mother and they have sex together... ok if by now you still want to watch it it means you are either a fan of this director's work or just weird as this film is.
October 1, 2013
Once again, I was the lone man out in loving this film when it was released in the US. Dark, grim, transgressive, disturbing and unsettling -- Ma Mere is a sort of allegorical look into the slow collapse of western culture. The film is perverse for a reason. Isabelle Huppert is perfectly cast and holds nothing back in Christophe Honoré's experimental film of family dysfunction and Existential Ennui. A bold and brave performance that cannot be ignored. And it would be unfair to not comment on the exceptional cinematography by Hélène Louvart. Certainly not for everyone, but I feel the critics missed the mark on this film.
December 4, 2012
Sick, weak, unimpressive.
½ August 5, 2012
As a great admirer of Isabell Huppert and her ego-free attitude towards her profession it is sad to see her in such a snooze inducing piece of sleazy art house load of bullocks that this film turns out to be. Interesting enough is not even the idea that lacks any sense, it is the execution, Christopher Honore may not be the worst film director in the world but Haneke he's not. A controversial subject doesn't need to look ugly for audiences to connect on the contrary many directors already proved that point. Honore seems to disagree and as such created one of the most visually ugly films since Catherine Breillat's Romance. Poor choices in cinematography and editing adds confusion to the ugliness of it all. On the other hand cheap philosophy wrapped in the most unerotic sex scenes since the birth of cinema makes this less exciting then watching 110 minutes of pure white on screen. The only things that saves it from a failure of epic proportions are the actors, but neither Huppert's Piano Teacher influenced performance nor unf inspiring ladies man Louis Garrel manage to give to its viewers the sense of fun and pleasure that they seem to been having on screen. In the end it tries to be what it is not and ends up being nothing but a silly film with a even sillier ending that is only there for reasons of massive plot contrivance.
½ July 11, 2012
Great acting I must say, but I'm not very fond of cheap freudianism and excessive zooming.
June 6, 2012
Infâme ou osé? Perturbé, voilà ce que je suis après m'être penché sur l'oeuvre de Christophe Honoré, et avec raison. Je ne sais pas si, moi, simple spectateur, suis en droit ''d'avoir apprécié l'oeuvre''. Je ne sais pas si c'est humainement sain. On dirait un film dans la même lignée que ceux de Passolini, mais avec d'atroces perversités qui sont mêlées aux réalités de la vie. Quant à savoir s'il y a un message dans cet amas de barbarisme sexuel, j'en doute un peu, malgré que le contexte soit tout de même bien intéressant, toutefois beaucoup TROP (ou mal) exploité. Néanmoins, on peut saluer une belle originalité de l'oeuvre malgré une atroce réalisation, d'atroces plans de caméra et des enchaînements de plan manquant de logique. Film trash (Requiem for a dream) ou pas, je crois être très tolérant concernant tous les genres de sexualité, mais cette violence sexuelle est à vomir. L'exhiber sans donner à se poser des questions est encore plus insupportable. N'écoutez pas ce film. Il fait passer Irreversible pour du Disney.
½ May 25, 2012
This was a good movie. It has great acting in it. And the characters are compelling. It looks deep into emotional/sexual abuse, incest, co-dependency, sexual addiction, sadism, masochism, love, hedonism, and perversion. I think you do have to go into the film with an open mind but I don't think its completely garbage like a lot of the other reviewers seem feel. It's a really sad and depressing film though and it does leave you with a hollow feeling at the end. But i don't think it is just sensationalism. I think one way to look at the film is it is a film that explores the consequences of emotional/physical incest and abuse in a family environment devoid of spirituality.

the actors are really top notch and they take daring risks with the material given it's taboo nature.
May 3, 2012
Deeply disturbing in a you can't look away way.
February 19, 2012
This film disturbed me in so many ways. Yes, it's perverse, but not to mention the dedication of the cast and value it, would be an insult.
January 29, 2012
Seventeen year-old Pierre vows blind love to his mother, who isn't ready to handle what her son projects onto her. Refusing to be loved for something she isn't, she decides to break all mystery and reveal her true nature, that of a woman for whom immorality has become an addiction.

Pierre is going to ask her to initiate him into debauchery and to go all the way in this more and more dangerous game...

I love subtitled films , and I usually love the way foreign films are not as hypocritical as the US concerning nudity and sex, but this made me queasy. The incest was just too much for me to handle. Two stars because I'm a Huppert fan. And Louis Garrel did a fantastic job.
January 24, 2012
il faut s'accrocher pour entrer dans cette relation mère-fils très spà (C)ciale.
August 14, 2011
ofcourse if not by louis garrel i will not gonna see this.
August 2, 2011
Very intriguing cinema. Loved it. Great cast.
July 24, 2011
haven't disliked a huppert film yet
May 11, 2011
While this could have been a good movie, it's just not. Imagine I only watched it for Louis Garrell and I'm not even sure he was worth it. It could have been smartly written, but it's not. The characters are shallow, the story says nothing, it's just bad fake porn all over.
Page 1 of 14