MAC and Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

MAC and Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 30, 2014
A blatant commercial for McDonald's and Coca-Cola disguised as an E.T. rip-off.
April 30, 2014
Director Stewart Raffill's film is otherwise an unashamed rip-off of Spielberg's classic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 14, 2013
It's an amazingly bald-faced copy of E. T. even though this is E. T. in a sticky wrapper, left under the heater two hours too long.
May 14, 2013
A mercenary display of product placement and a bad advertisment for filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 14, 2013
Possibly aware that they have something less than a classic on their hands, the makers of MAC and Me have cut their losses by making the film into a kind of cinematic billboard: all space is for sale.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
May 14, 2013
Everything about MAC and Me -- not least the fact that it's fairly well-made and involving -- smacks of crass calculation. The filmmakers even have the gall, in the movie's parting shot, to announce a sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 14, 2013
Mac and Me simply is an uninspired, fast-food version of E.T., The Extraterrestrial.
May 14, 2013
Mac and Me is a 99-minute commercial occasionally interrupted by a not-so-good children`s movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 20, 2012
So-bad-it's-good "E.T." rip-off; lots of product placement.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 3, 2009
In addition to its lack of originality, Mac and Me is also blatantly commercial, selling everything from candy to soft drinks to fast-food restaurants.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
June 24, 2006
Give the kids a break; take them to something else.
May 30, 2005
Watching it's made me a little stupider, buying it would have also dropped me a few social classes.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
April 14, 2005
Then there's Mac himself, a puppet which couldn't possibly look more like a puppet (a bad, shoddy puppet at that).
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 19, 2004
E.T. rip-off and commercial placement-packed kid movie
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
August 30, 2004
If you made a film about a homesick extraterrestrial befriended by a little boy, would you dare to have the creature look like E. T.'s cousin?
March 10, 2003
This shameless E.T. knockoff features a wrinkly alien and a kid in a wheelchair.
March 5, 2003
A product placement for McDonald's. Hook them kids in quick, and they'll be eating junk for life.
| Original Score: 0/5
July 27, 2002
Quite possibly one of the worst movies of the past 435 years.
| Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2000
So why is it so hard to like this film? Having seen it done so much better by Spielberg doesn't help, of course.
January 1, 2000
I'm not sure I've ever seen a movie that is as crass a 90-minute commercial as Mac and Me.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 2