MAC and Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

MAC and Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Peter Travers
People Magazine
April 30, 2014
A blatant commercial for McDonald's and Coca-Cola disguised as an E.T. rip-off.
David Parkinson
Radio Times
April 30, 2014
Director Stewart Raffill's film is otherwise an unashamed rip-off of Spielberg's classic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Los Angeles Times
May 14, 2013
It's an amazingly bald-faced copy of E. T. even though this is E. T. in a sticky wrapper, left under the heater two hours too long.
Mark Salisbury
Empire Magazine
May 14, 2013
A mercenary display of product placement and a bad advertisment for filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Ben Yagoda
Philadelphia Daily News
May 14, 2013
Possibly aware that they have something less than a classic on their hands, the makers of MAC and Me have cut their losses by making the film into a kind of cinematic billboard: all space is for sale.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
May 14, 2013
Everything about MAC and Me -- not least the fact that it's fairly well-made and involving -- smacks of crass calculation. The filmmakers even have the gall, in the movie's parting shot, to announce a sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Roger Hurlburt
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
May 14, 2013
Mac and Me simply is an uninspired, fast-food version of E.T., The Extraterrestrial.
Top Critic
Dave Kehr
Chicago Tribune
May 14, 2013
Mac and Me is a 99-minute commercial occasionally interrupted by a not-so-good children`s movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Brian Costello
Common Sense Media
July 20, 2012
So-bad-it's-good "E.T." rip-off; lots of product placement.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5

TV Guide
August 3, 2009
In addition to its lack of originality, Mac and Me is also blatantly commercial, selling everything from candy to soft drinks to fast-food restaurants.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic

Time Out
June 24, 2006
Give the kids a break; take them to something else.
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
May 30, 2005
Watching it's made me a little stupider, buying it would have also dropped me a few social classes.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
April 14, 2005
Then there's Mac himself, a puppet which couldn't possibly look more like a puppet (a bad, shoddy puppet at that).
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Steve Crum
Kansas City Kansan
October 19, 2004
E.T. rip-off and commercial placement-packed kid movie
| Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Caryn James
New York Times
August 30, 2004
If you made a film about a homesick extraterrestrial befriended by a little boy, would you dare to have the creature look like E. T.'s cousin?
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
March 10, 2003
This shameless E.T. knockoff features a wrinkly alien and a kid in a wheelchair.
Alex Sandell
Juicy Cerebellum
March 5, 2003
A product placement for McDonald's. Hook them kids in quick, and they'll be eating junk for life.
| Original Score: 0/5
Scott Weinberg
July 27, 2002
Quite possibly one of the worst movies of the past 435 years.
| Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Richard Harrington
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
So why is it so hard to like this film? Having seen it done so much better by Spielberg doesn't help, of course.
Chris Hicks
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
January 1, 2000
I'm not sure I've ever seen a movie that is as crass a 90-minute commercial as Mac and Me.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 2