Macario - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Macario Reviews

Page 2 of 2
½ July 6, 2009
Hace perfecto uso de los arquetipos tan pesados que escoge presentar. Incluso logra imprimir ironía y complejidad psicológica en su discurso y narrativa. La fotografía de Gabriel Figueroa es extraordinaria, así como su ataque bastante abierto a la Iglesia católica. / Makes perfect use of the heavy archetypes it chooses to present. It even manages to imbue its discourse and narrative with irony and psychological complexity. Gabriel Figueroa's photography is extraordinary, as is its rather open attack to the Catholic Church.
½ July 1, 2009
Interesting premise, funny performances, very eventful - though sort of tedious - and positively ambiguous.
½ April 23, 2009
Una de mis películas favoritas. En esta excelente adaptación al cine del cuento de B. Traven se revive la historia de Macario, el leñador mexicano que hace un pacto con la muerte, consiguiendo así un regalo inusual.El subestimado director Roberto Galvadón nos muestra de forma creativa y con un entorno cargado de símbolos la concepción de la muerte en el México clásico.Parte de la corriente nacionalista de la edad de oro, donde era visible el costumbrismo y el preciocismo, pero sin abusar de estos elementos (como lo hizo por ejemplo E. Fernández en María Candelaria) Macario es un filme de ritmo ágil y de historia envolvente.Sin embargo, la película está sustentada por 2 pilares: la soberbia actuación de Ignacio López Tarso y la mejor fotografía de México (claro, gabriel figueroa)Un clásico mexicano altamente recomendado*****
November 8, 2008
ES UNA MUY BUENA PELICULA, VIEJITA ESO SI, PERO ESTUPENDA. TUVE LA OPORTUNIDAD DE VER UNA PUESTA EN ESCENA CON EL SR. LOPEZ TARSO Y DESDE ENTONCES QUISE VER LA CINTA. ESTA FENOMENAL SOBRE TODO LA HISTORIA.
Super Reviewer
October 27, 2008
Interesting adaptation of the book. I like it and I think parts are even humorous :) Overall a good movie with a good lesson to be learned!
September 1, 2008
This film made a powerful impression on me when I first saw it as an 8 year old. Its message of how ones choices affect those around rings true still. Only now as an adult have I learned to appreciate the subtly of Igancio Lopez Tarso's portrail of the simple woodcutter.
Super Reviewer
July 24, 2008
nominated for best foreign film at the oscars
½ March 28, 2008
2003? WTF. I'll take this space quick second to say this movie was suprisingly damn good, considering the era, and that I'm pissed off that the other classic Mexican film I watched that night--El Rapto--isn't even listed. Jorge Negrete is where its at. Better recognize.
February 22, 2008
buen director, mejor actor principal... altamente recomendable
February 7, 2008
I love this film. It is packed with symbolism!
January 9, 2008
When watching Macario I'm happy to see that its magic has endured since 1960.
Although this film distances itself from the happy, naive and joyful musical movies made in the Golden Years of Mexica cinema, it still lacks the cynicism of later productions.
The best thing of the film is Macario himself: he speaks little, but we know that behind those eyes, a lot is going on.
Roberto Gavaldon engineered a jewel out of Traven's very short book; Igancio Lopez Tarso made a classic with this quiet character, and I was amazed to find in Pina Pellicer one of the most beautiful women in Mexican movies.
It is sad to see movies like this are no longer made. Mysticism has no place in Mexican cinema right now (with a few... quite a few, and I mean quite a FEW -near to NONE- exceptions)
December 1, 2007
The date should read 1960. Very well made folk tale with great performances, atmosphere, and timing.
November 16, 2007
Amazing, simply amazing
½ June 21, 2007
macario is a great movie, that talks about the way people in mexican celebrate the great tradition of dy of the dead... or dia de los muertos. its a good movie of macario giving his soul to the devil and then he dies
March 18, 2007
I'd love to see pictures of this grat movie
Page 2 of 2