Mad Cowgirl - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mad Cowgirl Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Super Reviewer
½ November 14, 2016
Pleasantly surprised by this zany underground film about the downward spiral of a meat packer suffering from mad cow disease. It took influence from Hong Kong cinema with some erotic thriller and a touch of religion. It's hard to describe the film but it is a must watch for people interesting in cult films.
December 28, 2010
This movie had all the makings of a classic midnight trash fest. Unfortunately, the director was making a completely different movie. Pretentious and unwatchable
December 1, 2010
Four stars for bringing, and keeping, the weird. Epic, in its own right. Sarah Lassez is a truly magical character.
February 6, 2010
What the hell did I just watch? This is one of those movies that made for a better trailer than an actual film. I'm disappointed. I was so excited to see this film because it looked so different. It was just an hour and a half of messy writing and boring situations. Can someone tell me why every single person in this film had a different accent? And the music goes from japanese to spanish to rap to you don't know what. How many languages are they speaking in this movie? I never felt so lost in a film as I did in Mad Cowgirl. This could have been a cool movie if it didn't seem like the director was rushing through it. Oh, and there's a part where Koenig is preaching on TV, you can see a blue outline around him from the green screen. Come on! How did this get distribution? I'm all about low-budget and indy film making but I was more confused than I was entertained. I gave it one star because the address of Walter Koenig's church was "665". That got a chuckle out of me but that's it.
February 3, 2010
MESSED UP!!! Think of any taboo you can come up with, and it's probably been covered here. This script is INSANE. Some fairly wooden acting is overcome by very interesting direction and a cute/likable lead. Watch at your own risk. Or make it a drinking game for every moment that one of the 7 deadly sins is violated. Your call.
½ August 10, 2009
Yeah, so this film is ca-ray-zy! We're talking Brad Dourif in The Exorcist 3 crazy. That's a high level of crazy right there. This is a real throwback to the Exploitation and Martial Arts films of the '70s. There's even a Flying Guillotine sighting.. Now, this isn't a gore fest. So if that's what you're expecting, you'll be disappointed. Like I am every time I see a movie with Kate Beckinsale where she doesn't get naked. There's quite a bit of blood, but that doesn't come until the final reel. So, in closing. This film is a definite recommendation, especially if you miss the good 'ole Grind-house days. Plus, how many other films do you get to see a preacher's "O" face.
Super Reviewer
½ February 11, 2009
Strange, confusing, disturbing. But you gotta hand it to the director, he creating a low budget but very watchable film. Oh, and what's needed in films these days: originality.
It's low budget, but understandably so, as it is something you won't see out of "Hollywood", which is why we should have actual independent films.
Anyway, it's done with competence and although I was confused and disturbed, I still enjoyed and appreciated it.
November 7, 2008
I was really interested in this movie when I read about it. It sounded surreal and daring. Now I know better. While it was very entertaining in spots, I just felt the movie missed it's own point. A health inspector who already has some problems, is possibly infected with mad cow disease by her more than creepy brother. I did like some of the parts where you weren't sure if she is imagining these things or if she is messed up by the mad cow or if she has always been messed up and now taking it out on everyone. She also goes on a little kung fu "Kill Bill" death spree. Sarah Lassez actually gives a great performance. She reminded me of Holly Hunter at times actually. Although this movie did have the creepiest thing I have ever seen in a movie: a girl pleasuring herself to Walter Koenig (Chekov from Star Trek) on TV. That and when he went down on her have got to be worse than "Faces of Death" ever will be.
September 11, 2008
This makes no sense...
September 10, 2008
If you like your movies to not make any sense and to be filled with dreadful indie film cliches, then by all means see this movie. On the plus side, if you have seen the movie Machine Girl, there is 1 part of this movie that will make you chuckle.
September 10, 2008
This movie is so demented, I love it! This flick truly disturbed me in the best possible way!
August 1, 2008
I liked parts of this movie. It had a lot of promise, but fell short. I liked the actors, but it just seamed not not be enough horror to be a good horror and not be enough drama to be a good drama. It's an "almost" movie
July 16, 2008
When youâ??re talking about the most avant-garde, uniquely unconventional, and surreal of films, you can often tell how brilliant that film is not so much by the glowing reviews as by the tenor of the critical reviews, as greatness tends to be hated by some as much as it is loved by others. Mad Cowgirl invokes plenty of venomous negative criticism. For my money, this film is nothing short of envelope-pushing brilliance.
June 28, 2008
Lots of promise, even with the terrible acting, but doesn't get much beyond "shocking" subjects and student film camera effects.
½ June 11, 2008
It was you're basic audio porn art film. Highly rooted in fetish with an obsessive sound track. I like audio based art films, so for what it is, I give it 3.5 stars. As a functional film, it gets 1.5 stars.
½ May 11, 2008
Plot and honest character development are tossed to the wayside in this low-budget attempt at playing Alejandro Jodorowsky or Harmony Korine while failing miserably at actually succeeding. Director Gregory Hatanaka shines as a perfect example of a filmmaker without his own vision, a sad knack for poorly embellishing popular trends, and a hack storyteller who somehow gets lost in his own yawn of a yarn. Amazingly, with all the raw meat, bloodshed, incest, religious dogma, and nightmarescapes, it wasn't even weird enough to be captivating...or interesting. Somewhere around the middle of the 2nd act it does, however, become pretty clear this is nothing but cinematic masturbation from a porn-grade director who fails at even delivering a decent money-shot, i.e., a satisfying or even clever climax.
½ April 14, 2008
A slighty mental (and cute..why do those two go together so often?) woman working as a meat inspector has her life of random creepy love affairs shaken up as she is diagnosed with a brain tumour. She decides to indulge in everything she enjoys, while at the same time struggling to find religious help. As she starts scoffing down as much meat as possible and jumping on any guy she sees (including Chekov from Star Trek..told you shes mental), she contracts mad cow disease and descends into an insane personal world of mysterious kung-fu asassins and the claret really starts to spray... dont watch it if you like films that make sense, but I liked it, good pace, funny and original with a very varied and effective soundtrack.
April 2, 2008
This film was simply awful.
March 12, 2008
I'm still thinking about this movie. Why its so bad and why I liked it. Maybe its the bizarre relationships Therese has (especially with Walter Koenig) or the Kung Fu montages. Maybe the bad acting..maybe the gross meat all over the place. Shes pretty hot too, in a deranged kind of way.
December 9, 2007
"A demented jag of blasphemy, multicultural weirdness, splatter-movie tropes and inchoate meat metaphors!" Not to mention incest, sex addicted evangelical Priests (played wonderfully by Trekkie Walter Koenig), and, yes, a weird abundant amount of kung fu. Totally off the wall and very surreal.
Page 1 of 2