Madeline's Madeline - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Madeline's Madeline Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 13, 2019
Well-acted low-budget aesthetic film that might impress even if seemingly going the mumblecore route without any easy solutions to the problems it raises ... .
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 16, 2018
Helena Howard gives one of the most electrifying debut performances to hit the screen in decades.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
November 25, 2018
There's not a film released this year, and frankly, most years, that is this unsettling yet empathetic, this emotionally-fraught yet warm.
November 24, 2018
The highest praise I can give Madeline's Madeline is that it surprised me. I just didn't see this film coming. It takes a conventional coming-of-age tale and does something remarkably fresh and unique with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 20, 2018
You're a visitor in Madeline's world, and though it may be scary at times, it's an experience you won't soon forget.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
November 17, 2018
[It] can be a tough watch at times because the anger Howard displays cuts through our hearts. We see her character's "performances" as the actual display of trauma they are.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
November 9, 2018
I'm content with what Decker achieves here, which is nothing less than singular. It's a film awash in risks, and the rewards are plenteous. The biggest one of all is Helena Howard's introduction to the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 3, 2018
Madeline's Madeline is a film built to comb through its details, to question what in its characters is identity and what is performance.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 2, 2018
Madeline's Madeline is a challenge worth taking on, if only so you can experience the breakthrough performance by young Helena Howard.
November 2, 2018
Madeline's Madeline is not a statement but a fiercely curious exploration of the dense relationships between artist and viewer, art and life, story and teller, and the different ways we perform ourselves every day.
October 31, 2018
... Madeline's Madeline is a full-on sensory assault that challenges the therapeutic nature of art through the chaos of an unstable mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 12, 2018
Madeline's Madeline crackles with a strange and unpredictable energy from the first moments and rarely lets up.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 9, 2018
The indie film lets the audience experience the effects of living with mental illness by creating an unstable atmosphere that accelerates like a ticking time bomb.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 4, 2018
This is cinema most fine.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
September 20, 2018
Indie filmmaker Josephine Decker has come up with a brilliant showcase for Helena Howard, whose performance is electrifying.
September 17, 2018
There's also a splash of Mother! wildness in there, but it's fresh and new; my comparisons may be spot on and are irrelevant just the same.
September 14, 2018
Fragmented, occasionally frustrating and ultimately ecstatic.
September 13, 2018
One of the best films of the year, if also one of the hardest to initially get your head around.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 7, 2018
Helena Howard's electric turn in the title role will have you transfixed
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 7, 2018
Add another name to the list of talented and charismatic young actresses of color making auspicious debuts of late: Helena Howard, star of director and co-writer Josephine Decker's simultaneously attractive and repellent mindjob.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 5