Magic in the Water - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Magic in the Water Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
One of the problems with the first two-thirds of Magic in the Water is that we don't see Orky. One of the problems with the last third is that we do.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
It's certainly not a good film, and I can't give it even a lukewarm recommendation, but there are isolated moments when the film works as well for adults as for kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
May 5, 2014
A singularly unconvincing parable, ultimately hamstrung by awkward, choppy storytelling.
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
August 9, 2002
| Original Score: 1/5
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
February 21, 2011
'Magic in the Water' will probably appeal mostly to viewers who crave unsophisticated family-oriented entertainment, not matter how hokey it is.
Dragan Antulov
rec.arts.movies.reviews
December 9, 2002
Full Review| Original Score: 3/10
May 5, 2014
A formulaic (think Free Willy meets Loch Ness) but pleasant enough family film.
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 1, 2000
If dying of boredom was possible, this movie would be lethal.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Top Critic
Hal Hinson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
There's definitely something in the water here, but magic...?
Hollis Chacona
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
While it's amusing for the younger set, an adult outing to Magic in the Water, like my search for Nessie, might benefit from a few shots of magic water en route.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Chris Hicks
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
January 1, 2000
Free Willy and E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial are the obvious inspirations for Magic in the Water, a tepid family fantasy that replaces those child-friendly creatures for a sort of Canadian Loch Ness Monster.
Top Critic
Edward Guthmann
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
I was so fed up with the bogus sentiment in Magic in the Water that I started wishing it were Harmon gasping for breath instead of the cheap rubber thing with the eyes. No such luck.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Barbara Shulgasser
San Francisco Examiner
January 1, 2000
You can probably see this movie without doing any major damage, but you and yours will have much more fun reading together from the collected works of Dr. Seuss.
Kim Williamson
Boxoffice Magazine
June 5, 2002
A film likely to delight only the youngest moviegoers.
Emanuel Levy
EmanuelLevy.Com
August 4, 2005
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
May 5, 2014
Orky isn't shown until near the end, and then only briefly. At first, I thought this was an attempt to build suspense, but after a while, I began to suspect that the high cost of sea-monster footage was the real explanation.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Jami Bernard
New York Daily News
May 5, 2014
Orky is very concerned with the environment and can repair relationships between parents and children. But Orky cannot save this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Gene Siskel
Chicago Tribune
May 5, 2014
If Magic in the Water had been written smarter, both children and adults would have enjoyed it more.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
May 5, 2014
On the minus side are a heavy-handed dose of political correctness and a needless flight into dubious whimsy in an already fanciful situation.
David Aldridge
Radio Times
May 5, 2014
The result is a slice of delightful escapism that will enchant children and entertain parents as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2