Magic in the Water - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Magic in the Water Reviews

May 5, 2014
A singularly unconvincing parable, ultimately hamstrung by awkward, choppy storytelling.
May 5, 2014
On the minus side are a heavy-handed dose of political correctness and a needless flight into dubious whimsy in an already fanciful situation.
May 5, 2014
If Magic in the Water had been written smarter, both children and adults would have enjoyed it more.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 5, 2014
Orky is very concerned with the environment and can repair relationships between parents and children. But Orky cannot save this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
May 5, 2014
Orky isn't shown until near the end, and then only briefly. At first, I thought this was an attempt to build suspense, but after a while, I began to suspect that the high cost of sea-monster footage was the real explanation.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 26, 2009
Director Rick Stevenson and co-writer Icel Dobell Massey tell their fanciful story with an appreciable amount of wit and imagination.
January 1, 2000
I was so fed up with the bogus sentiment in Magic in the Water that I started wishing it were Harmon gasping for breath instead of the cheap rubber thing with the eyes. No such luck.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
There's definitely something in the water here, but magic...?
January 1, 2000
Despite these cliches, director and co-screenwriter Rick Stevenson has created some original moments.
January 1, 2000
It's certainly not a good film, and I can't give it even a lukewarm recommendation, but there are isolated moments when the film works as well for adults as for kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
One of the problems with the first two-thirds of Magic in the Water is that we don't see Orky. One of the problems with the last third is that we do.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4