Magic in the Water - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Magic in the Water Reviews

Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
May 5, 2014
A singularly unconvincing parable, ultimately hamstrung by awkward, choppy storytelling.
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
May 5, 2014
On the minus side are a heavy-handed dose of political correctness and a needless flight into dubious whimsy in an already fanciful situation.
Top Critic
Gene Siskel
Chicago Tribune
May 5, 2014
If Magic in the Water had been written smarter, both children and adults would have enjoyed it more.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Jami Bernard
New York Daily News
May 5, 2014
Orky is very concerned with the environment and can repair relationships between parents and children. But Orky cannot save this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
May 5, 2014
Orky isn't shown until near the end, and then only briefly. At first, I thought this was an attempt to build suspense, but after a while, I began to suspect that the high cost of sea-monster footage was the real explanation.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Joe Leydon
Variety
March 26, 2009
Director Rick Stevenson and co-writer Icel Dobell Massey tell their fanciful story with an appreciable amount of wit and imagination.
Top Critic
Edward Guthmann
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
I was so fed up with the bogus sentiment in Magic in the Water that I started wishing it were Harmon gasping for breath instead of the cheap rubber thing with the eyes. No such luck.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Hal Hinson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
There's definitely something in the water here, but magic...?
Top Critic
John F. Kelly
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
Despite these cliches, director and co-screenwriter Rick Stevenson has created some original moments.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
It's certainly not a good film, and I can't give it even a lukewarm recommendation, but there are isolated moments when the film works as well for adults as for kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
One of the problems with the first two-thirds of Magic in the Water is that we don't see Orky. One of the problems with the last third is that we do.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4