Magic Mike - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Magic Mike Reviews

Page 2 of 10
August 7, 2012
I was gunning for Showgirls only as Show Boys. Instead director Steven Soderbergh did something normal and classy, which are two words I associate with his other films and did not want to describe this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 4, 2012
Reigning men on a physical, philosophical and psychological level, Steven Soderbergh's Magic Mike also completes the transformation of Channing Tatum from mumbling toy-boy to thinking man's beefcake.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 1, 2012
As Mike, Tatum is a pillar of integrity, a hard-working stud with his eyes on the end game.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 30, 2012
... the director, the unpredictable Steven Soderbergh, gives the clichés a surface gloss of credibility.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 30, 2012
What works in the movie are its cast, locale, and unique milieu. We're shown the behind-the-scenes workings ... the same way we become privy to the workings of wrestling in The Wrestler, although it's obviously much, much more fun being a stripper.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 29, 2012
The crotch fireworks from the dance sequences are huge but once they settle the plot is as thin as a piece of material going up a male exotic dancer's backside.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 29, 2012
...the meandering atmosphere [is] eventually (and perhaps inevitably) exacerbated by a reliance on eye-rollingly hackneyed elements and plot developments.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 29, 2012
After its overly drawn out introduction (featuring far too much stripping), the movie rushes in its final stages.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 28, 2012
You go to see seven spectacularly formed male bodies but the movie turns out to be all sculpted, too. Soderbergh's best film since Erin Brockovich
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 27, 2012
Come for the half-naked hunky guys, stay for the expertly crafted story and gorgeous direction. No, I said "direction", now get your mind out of the gutter.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 27, 2012
Thankfully, there's enough of a decent story shoe-horned in between all the gyrations and abdominal close-ups to keep Magic Mike from turning into an unofficial update of The Full Monty.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 26, 2012
Magic Mike is solid if slight, with some good laughs, interesting characters and career-best turns from Tatum and McConaughey.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 26, 2012
Magic Mike isn't going for heart like The Fully Monty; it's going for titillation, with a small side of post-GFC commentary if you care to look.
July 25, 2012
Magic Mike works with a Boogie Nights-esque structure, showcasing a glowing cash-strewn catwalk empire before eventually urinating all over it.
July 24, 2012
Magic Mike features great performances from Tatum and McConaughey; it's well guided by the assured directorial eye of Soderbergh but the slavishly conventional resolution made me keep the larger bills in my pocket.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 23, 2012
The boy can move, and, in news that will be only barely significant to much of the audience, can act pretty well too.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 21, 2012
On the scale of chick flicks, Magic Mike is probably a 10, combining large quantities of male stripping action in a nightclub setting and a soppy romantic tale
July 21, 2012
Plenty of entertainment value and some titillation especially for female audiences, even if it does not quite provide the orgasmic hit we crave
July 20, 2012
Dropping dollar bills on a bank loan officer's desk is more humiliating than tucking them into a dancer's G-string in this wily crowd-pleaser...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 17, 2012
Gah, bare flesh pecs on screen drool cup need quick!!
Page 2 of 10