Magnolia - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Magnolia Reviews

Page 2 of 8
January 9, 2004
If it is emotional cinema you seek then this, my friends, is for you.
Full Review | Original Score: A
February 8, 2003
If any film could be described as 'art for art's sake,' it would be Paul Thomas Anderson's Magnolia.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 3, 2002
It's a gambler's strategy -- double or nothing -- and Magnolia's gamble pays off.
October 30, 2002
Ever since the credits rolled I've been able to think of little else.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 22, 2002
Anderson brings us his third movie... with more confidence and skill than his 29 years would suggest.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 21, 2002
What, ultimately, *is* this jumbled mess about, anyway?
October 15, 2002
The film's genius lies in Mr. Anderson's brilliant construction, which weaves the stories together with dazzling elegance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 21, 2002
Proves the truth of the old Zen adage: those who try too hard usually miss the target.
June 13, 2002
The acting is spellbinding and illustrates the dysfunctional core of humans at a level that exceeds most films.
Full Review | Original Score: 85/100
May 31, 2002
Não é maravilhoso ser levado por um filme desta maneira?
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 3, 2002
Dosn't stand up to any analysis, but it's filled with amazing scenes, and seems uncannily hooked into the Zeitgeist of the time.
Read More | Original Score: B+
March 22, 2002
You don't have to like everything [Anderson] does, but if you enjoy seeing the walls rattled and the roof raised in the Hollywood citadel, you've got to love it.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 5, 2002
P.T. Anderson's Magnolia is probably my favorite film of the 1990's.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 15, 2002
You could spend three hours snickering at Anderson's 'What the World Needs Now Is Aimee Mann' metaphysic. But his vision cuts deeper than a lot of folky bathos.
October 30, 2001
"Days of Our Lives" with better production values.
Read More | Original Score: 4/10
May 10, 2001
Magnolia makes it three-for-three for writer and director Paul Thomas Anderson
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
April 17, 2001
Speaks to us from places we know all too well - the dark side of the morning, and the solitary depths of the human heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2001
The most emotionally powerful film I have seen in a long time.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
January 1, 2000
What Anderson lacks in substance is offset by his great skill with actors, his gift for shaping resonant little individual vignettes and his extraordinary intuition.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
Delivers thrilling scene after thrilling scene.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Page 2 of 8