Magnolia - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Magnolia Reviews

Page 1 of 8
October 29, 2007
There's a lot of really neat, cool honestly imaginative stuff in Magnolia, but it's hardly the best movie I've seen in the past month.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 82/100
October 30, 2001
"Days of Our Lives" with better production values.
Read More | Original Score: 4/10
January 1, 2000
Anderson has efficiently sabotaged and humiliated himself.
August 21, 2002
Proves the truth of the old Zen adage: those who try too hard usually miss the target.
January 10, 2010
...it finally slumps down under its own weight and becomes a shambles. But, dang, it's such an attractive shambles.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 1, 2000
Anderson considers himself an actor's director, but he's something far less romantic: a star-struck enabler.
October 21, 2002
What, ultimately, *is* this jumbled mess about, anyway?
January 1, 2000
Overlong, self-indulgent and often laughable.
January 1, 2000
Magnolia withers under the weight of its ambition.
January 1, 2000
An incredibly pretentious film in search of a point.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 1, 2000
Anderson is still a solid talent, but he should remember to explore his ideas in depth as well as breadth.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Anderson was better off dealing with what goes into the mouths of babes than what comes out of them.
January 1, 2000
I went into Magnolia like a kid running onto a beach with a pail and shovel ready to explore, only to find myself neck deep in quicksand three hours later, screaming for help.
January 1, 2000
Those willing to wait will find ample reward here. Those who want and expect prompt gratification will find an invitation to walk out at some point during the first 90 minutes of the picture.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Only see Magnolia if you have a lot of time (and patience) on your hands.
Read More | Original Score: 5/10
January 1, 2000
I wish I could join in the chorus of praise...
January 1, 2000
If Anderson's story structure owes much to Robert Altman, then his directing style owes even more to Martin Scorsese.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2000
It turns out that Anderson tends to mistake redundancy for depth.
January 1, 2000
The biggest disappointment of the year.
January 1, 2000
How did Paul Thomas Anderson attain the pinnacle of self-indulgence so quickly?
Page 1 of 8