The Major and the Minor - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Major and the Minor Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 25, 2017
Goofy comedy finds a grown up woman pretending to be a 12 year old girl to get half fare. While being chased by suspecting train employees, she tags along with an older soldier and gets mixed up into all sorts of silly antics. Its the two leading stars that carry the entire movie, with some good moments here and there for a very light comedy.
½ January 14, 2017
Looking over the credits, I had thought this was going to be really funny. Instead, Wilder's directorial debut is merely amusing - and occasionally embarrassing. This would seem much funnier if Roger's character was acting nearly 16 instead of being 20ish pretending to be nearly 12 years old. But I suppose some states allowed girls to be married at 14 back then, which is another angle lost on modern viewers today.

Regardless, Rogers does well altering her persona, and Milland is quite the officer and gentleman.
½ January 5, 2017
A cute romantic comedy.
½ January 3, 2017
Cute and charming. The best I've seen from Ginger Rogers. (First and only viewing - 4/8/2010)
½ June 3, 2016
Wilder's directorial debut also co-wrote script sorry I try but I can't buy Rogers as a 12 year old too bad they didn't cast shirley temple but this is paramount and she was at RKO at the time-I think.
March 12, 2015
Greatest movie ever! Ginger is the bomb!
August 24, 2014
I SAW THIS MOVIE A YEAR WITH A FRIEND A YEAR OR TWO AFTER ITS RELEASE WE WERE 9 AND I CAN REMEMBER HOW WE LAUGHED AT THE IDEA THAT ANYONE COULD HAVE ACCEPTED GINGER ROGERS AS A PRE TEEN SHE WAS OLDER THAN OUR MOTHERS, AND WOULD HAVE HAD TO PASS AS SOMEONE 2 YEARS OLDER THAN WE WERE SHE WAS FOR HEAVEN'S SAKE 31
January 27, 2014
Ridiculous plot and situations, but Ginger Rogers makes it work as she's a great comedic actress. And, oh yeah, having Billy Wilder directing (his first time) helps as well. Definitely couldn't be made again today.
½ September 7, 2013
A remarkable and terrifically fun romantic comedy. They just don't make 'em like they used to.
June 8, 2013
After a young woman is forced to disguise herself as a 12-year old girl to get her train ticket for half price, she meets a major who is she meets a major who is strangely attracted to her. Wilder is not afraid to go around the code restrictions by creating a comedic situation with intelligently placed sexual undertones. It is his delicacy too, mixed with a well timed performance by Ginger Rogers who has arguably never been funnier, that makes the story believable and entertaining.
May 12, 2013
A Charming movie very funny and it something that couldn't be made today. Ginger Rogers and Ray Milland have chemistry together this film is also noteworthy because it the first feature film directed by the great billy wilder. Definitely give this movie a look it well worth it especially if your a billy wilder fan
April 16, 2013
this movie is that enjoyable,,,everything was just seems right :)
February 27, 2013
Very good plot and acting. Rogers' performance excels as "Little Susu" and Milland is a good supporting actor.
½ February 6, 2013
This is such an enjoyable and funny film you can't help but love it, and after you love it for its witty dialogue and direction you may just find yourself pondering about how deep this romantic comedy really goes. Rogers is simply amazing in her role and it's interesting to see her switching between the two ages flawlessly. Milland is of course wonderful as well. No doubt audiences find it quite ridiculous to believe Rogers passes as a teenager but that's where the undertones of "a message to the story" begin. A wonderful film on many levels it's like a movie that just keeps giving as you go back and watch it again you discover more that you hadn't seen or comprehended the last time.
½ January 3, 2013
A woman disguises herself as a child to save on a train fare and is taken in charge by an army man who doesn't notice the truth.
October 12, 2012
Wilder at his most interpersonally subversive, and Ginger Rogers at her best.
April 9, 2012
catchy och välspelad men ganska unken och överflödig i sin plott. inte så angelägen.
March 19, 2012
Great movie a woman masqurades as a young girl to afford a ticket home, is rescued by a major and ends up falling in love.
January 14, 2012
This funny romantic comedy is full of delightful performances from Ginger Rogers, and there are all sort of funny diverse delights sprinkled throughout this film.
Page 1 of 6