Mallrats - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mallrats Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 20, 2014
Retains enough Smith-isms to help navigate all potholes in execution. Flawed, yes, but Mallrats has its charms when it isn't shoving its hand up its own hindquarters.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 1, 2011
Typical Kevin Smith fare; not suitable for kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 27, 2007
Almost everyone has lively things to say, the topics usually centering on the Kevin Smith triumvirate of sex, comics, and movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 27, 2006
Ragged, messy, and flat, this is Kevin Smith's sophomore jinx; coming right after Clerks, it was a huge artistic and commercial flop
Full Review | Original Score: C-
September 22, 2005
There must be a helluva lot of Mallrats fans out there, and I feel pretty confident in saying that they'll pretty much adore this new DVD edition.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 15, 2004
How did Kevin Smith gain any fan base? This clunker made a bundle.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
May 23, 2004
Fun, but the least of Smith's Jay and Silent Bob films.
| Original Score: 3/5
January 13, 2004
Sophomoric silliness.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 14, 2003
Underrated Kevin Smith. Lots of inside jokes, background gags and smart dialogue.
| Original Score: 4/5
May 22, 2003
Of the 2,818 movies I've seen, never have I witnessed a greater comedic performance than that of Jason Lee in Mallrats, and I doubt I ever will.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 20, 2003
Mallrats mixes clever bits and an appealing quirkiness (which goes a long way) with gross-out practical jokes, needless repetition and obvious padding, since it has no real plot.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
April 4, 2003
Kevin Smith's weakest film, and a guilty pleasure among his fans, but a movie that I found to be very rhythmless and flat.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
February 18, 2003
Snoogins! One of the funniest movies of all time!
| Original Score: 5/5
November 7, 2002
Mallrats enlived by Jason Lee's stellar performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 5, 2002
A surprisingly clever and hilariously bizarre take on the Gen-X teen experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 3, 2001
This sparky if flawed effort deserves re-evaluation.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 13, 2001
If the Sundance Institute or the AFI ever offers a course advising directors of successful first films what to avoid the second time around, Mallrats could be at the heart of the curriculum.
January 1, 2000
Despite a broad range of effective comedy and a decent laugh-per-minute ratio, Mallrats is likely to be a moderate disappointment for anyone who guffawed their way through the previous film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
The fatal flaw in plotting the material is that we don't care.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 1, 2000
A disjointed but infectious series of comic vignettes, toilet humor, practical jokes, sight gags, even a sort of grunge variation on Keystone Kops slapstick.
Page 1 of 3