Mamma Mia! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mamma Mia! Reviews

Page 2 of 9
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
August 27, 2008
This is entertainment, not a movie. And as entertainment goes, Mamma Mia! belts it out of the park.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Beth Accomando
KPBS.org
August 13, 2008
Mamma Mia! has an exclamation in its title for a reason: it just wants to shout out its sense of fun. The film is buoyantly unpretentious and proclaims at the top of its voice, "Take me as I am."
Jolene Mendez
Entertainment Spectrum
August 13, 2008
The film was so exciting and entertaining that I felt swept away. As if I was a wedding attendee, cheering on Sophie to discover herself and for her mother to find happiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
August 8, 2008
The music is as great now as it was 30 years ago, a true testament to ABBA's continued popularity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Andy Klein
Los Angeles CityBeat
August 1, 2008
Nusicals traditionally rely rather heavily on things like singing and dancing; but what stage director Phyllida Lloyd throws onto the screen could better be described as "singing" and "dancing."
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
July 30, 2008
I tapped my foot, I smiled, and I found myself undeniably amused. If that's the kind of experience you're looking for, and if you dig ABBA, this crazy, sloppy, mixed-up movie might just be for you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
July 25, 2008
...can't help being fun.
| Original Score: 3/5
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
July 25, 2008
Shot on location in Greece, but the way Meryl Streep tears through the scenery, you'd think she was in a giant reptile suit on the back lot at Toho.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
July 25, 2008
Make that Grandma Mia!
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
John Wirt
Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA)
July 25, 2008
The big-screen Mamma Mia! rises above its flaws through an A-list leading lady and, like its stage-musical predecessor, skillful exploitation of the both fun and pathos in Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus' undeniable music.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
July 24, 2008
Lacking the punch or creativity of the stage musical, this sunny, but not very funny adaptation is short on vocal prowess and choreography.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Phil Hall
Film Threat
July 23, 2008
A dinky, dreary lump that is too lazy to offend the intellect and too uninspired to cause even a cackle of audience derision.
| Original Score: 1.5/5
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
July 22, 2008
Unless you buy into this ersatz jubilance and its grim determination to make you feel good, you're apt to long for a tranquilizer gun by the 20-minute mark.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
July 22, 2008
There might not be anything as utterly dispiriting as watching people pretending to have fun, and that is quite literally the only card the movie has to play.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
July 22, 2008
You could spend all week eating bacon at a pig farm and still find more ham in "Mamma Mia!," an irrepressible, unstoppable kaleidoscope of karaoke camp gone berserk that features a cast happily mainlining ABBA's songbook.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Kyle Smith
KyleSmithOnline.com
July 22, 2008
Terrible jokes in a movie that is nonetheless hilarious. You will laugh at, not with, Mamma Mia.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Richard Knight
Windy City Times
July 22, 2008
The movie gets by on sheer exuberance. Your appreciation of it, I suspect, will strongly depend on your mood and the enthusiasm of the audience members around you.
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
July 21, 2008
I love musicals and I love ABBA, so I was really excited for this movie. I pretty much got what I deserved.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
David Cornelius
eFilmCritic.com
July 21, 2008
It's My Two Dads set to crappy Swedish music.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Pam Grady
FilmStew.com
July 21, 2008
It is not merely that Pierce Brosnan cannot sing; it is that he looks so uncomfortable doing it.
Page 2 of 9