The Man Who Cried - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Man Who Cried Reviews

Top Critic
Deborah Young
Variety
June 6, 2008
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
April 27, 2007
Top Critic
Derek Adams
Time Out
June 24, 2006
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
August 9, 2002
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
October 30, 2001
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
July 20, 2001
I prefer to think of this movie as The Critic Who Cried.
| Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Kevin Courrier
Globe and Mail
July 16, 2001
Potter eschews drama for posing, politics for postulating, and provides enough symbolic broad strokes to gag a magic realist.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Geoff Pevere
Toronto Star
July 13, 2001
It's as though we're being dared not to take the movie seriously, although nothing but the pre-Holocaust setting compels you to do so.
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
June 28, 2001
There's only one performer in the movie who looks completely at ease with what he's doing: the horse.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
June 22, 2001
If [Potter] personally, in her 40s, can go to Argentina and become a tango dancer, then we can't complain about anything that happens to Suzie. Not that we'd want to.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
June 21, 2001
A poetic look at transience, betrayal, loss and doom.
Top Critic
Jay Carr
Boston Globe
June 15, 2001
The story is pretty cornball, with an ending that can only be called pure Hollywood.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
June 15, 2001
A mixed bag -- reasonably well-made and of some interest, but not the kind of movie to truly engage the viewer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
June 14, 2001
What she lacks as a dramatist, Potter ... compensates for with a painter's eye and a composer's ear.
Top Critic
Tom Keogh
Film.com
June 4, 2001
While we may like what we see, it's impossible to comprehend what much of it means or why we should care.
Top Critic
John Zebrowski
Seattle Times
June 1, 2001
We're never offended by any of this -- we're never exactly enthralled, either.
Top Critic
Louis B. Parks
Houston Chronicle
June 1, 2001
Has a good story; a lush, tantalizing style and tone; and an excellent cast.
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
May 26, 2001
Potter's cinematic vision is what makes The Man Who Cried shimmer and levitate.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Glenn Lovell
San Jose Mercury News
May 26, 2001
If this all sounds terribly melodramatic, that's because it is.
Top Critic
Andy Seiler
USA Today
May 25, 2001
If only all this effort had all been expended on a worthier endeavor.
Top Critic
Elvis Mitchell
New York Times
May 25, 2001
It's all big moments, the world's longest and most sincere trailer.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Jonathan Foreman
New York Post
May 25, 2001
Spotted with historical inaccuracies and groaning with dialogue so dreadful that it makes a fine cast look ridiculous again and again.
Top Critic
Kevin Maynard
Mr. Showbiz
May 25, 2001
A pallid character drama that glosses over any interesting political or moral questions.
Top Critic
Jan Stuart
Newsday
May 25, 2001
Suzie and Cesar are essentially reactive characters, as much victims of underwriting as they are of persecution.
Top Critic
David Germain
Associated Press
May 24, 2001
A heartbreaking counterpoint to big war spectacles, beautifully performed by Christina Ricci, Cate Blanchett, Johnny Depp and John Turturro.
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
May 24, 2001
Potter gets the period details right (heads up, Michael Bay), but the film itself has long since flown off the rails, miring good intentions in rank soap opera.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic

Ebert & Roeper
May 24, 2001
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
May 22, 2001
Gives bad movies a good name.