The Man with One Red Shoe - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Man with One Red Shoe Reviews

Page 1 of 15
December 1, 2016
Certainly a wacky spoof.
August 18, 2016
Violinist gets caught up in CIA conspiracy in this confusing, messy comedy.
May 5, 2016
Violinist becomes wrapped up in a CIA cover up in this silly farce based off the French comedy.
January 3, 2016
1/3/2016: Meh. Other than a couple moments there weren't many funny moments.
½ October 14, 2015
It's easy to see why Tom Hanks went on to become so successful because he really does outperform the film itself.

There's a lot of potential in the core concept of a man being stalked by the CIA for no reason whatsoever but for some reason all of the jokes (and there are some very well conceived jokes) fall slightly flat.
½ September 19, 2015
i liked this french pic upon which is based on but the US version not so much
½ March 26, 2015
Stupid movie, one of tom hanks worst movies. Based on the film adaptation of the man with the black shoe, for some reason this time red, why but either way in my opinion both were terrible.
March 1, 2015
The Man with One Red Shoe holds up surprisingly well. This is from Hanks' younger romantic comedy period. Dabney Coleman plays the typical Dabney Coleman role. Jim Belushi and Carrie Fisher are funny. And Lori Singer is hot! Not a great movie, but better than its' RT rating.
½ August 9, 2014
(First and only viewing - 8/27/2009)
½ June 23, 2014
An absolutely pointless, witless, aimless sendup of the spy genre that manages to flame out on the runway despite its name-studded cast. Tom Hanks is the center of attention, to the surprise of none, as his usual aloof '80s bachelor in search of more than just another one-night stand. His character's unfortunate choice of footwear on a long flight leaves him tangled in a web of espionage and deceit; a hapless patsy in a high-stakes game of cloak and dagger. Jim Belushi and Carrie Fisher support, in roles that don't really go anywhere or mean anything, and work no miracles with the base-level material. It's an unfocused film with no ambition, no personality and a bald, spell-it-out sense of humor that's better for eye rolls than snickers. Harmless, but also useless.
May 22, 2014
People may forget that the greatest living actor started as a comedic one. And even though he is likable in pretty much everything he does, he has made a couple of duds, this was one of them. Jim Belushi has the funniest moments, problem is there are few and far between. There is a scene of Carrie Fisher in her underwear and just in case your forgot how hot she looked in gold bikini in RETURN OF THE JEDI, she reminds you here. Overall tho, this movie is a turd.
April 13, 2014
saw this in the late 80's/early 90's- want to see again, don't remember rating.
February 25, 2014
one of my favor tom hanks movies, he has made some many and so many early ones that are classics, great cast in this one so much talent, alot of my fave actors, carrie, james, dabney,charles edward, tom noonan, and or course lori, one of her best roles i could watch this movie again and again and i have i have lost count how many times i have watch this, its just such a fun spy movie to watch they dont make them like this any more, i wish there were alot more movies ,like this one.
½ February 22, 2014
Contrary to popolar belief, Tom Hanks has made his fair share of bad movies, especially early in his career when he was just starting out. "The Man With One Red Shoe" is certainly one of the worst, a convoluted spy comedy in which someone apparently forgot to write any jokes.

This is based on a French farce, but the American version is oddly subdued and dark, despite a game and talented cast. Hanks himself is likable as a clueless everyman, but the film doesn't work and a lot of that has to do with the fact that his character spends the entire movie save for the last few minutes in the dark. Maybe if he had been clued in earlier to all of the danger around him, this could have become the madcap spoof it so desperately wants to be.

The entire tone is just so dull and leaden that by the time the bodies start to pile up at the end, it doesn't seem so out of place. I think by that time, everyone has already forgotten that this was meant to be a comedy. It's so misguided that Hanks is almost playing straight man to co-star Jim Belushi, who seems to be the only cast member trying to keep this mess afloat. He's not successful.

The story might have worked as a vehicle for Dan Aykroyd and Chevy Chase with Jon Landis at the helm a la "Spies Like Us", but as it stands now, "The Man With One Red Shoe" is a forgotten footnote in cinematic history. Hanks would go on to bigger and better things, and his fans would come to expect more from him. He was merely testing the waters with this mediocre mess.
February 6, 2014
i enjoyed this movie alot it was great
November 28, 2013
It had some good jokes.
November 25, 2013
A comedy of errors, but also an error of comedy.
½ September 11, 2013
I thought it was enjoyable.
July 28, 2013
I love this movie and this is my favorite movie ever and I'm 9!
Page 1 of 15