Mandragora - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mandragora Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ September 30, 2012
I was strongly affected as this is someone's reality. Sickening, saddening and sour.
½ August 28, 2011
"Mandragora" refers to a plant and could refer to Marek (Mirek Caslavka) who leaves his home with this strict father to pursue a fun life in Prague. Within minutes, he's robbed, loses his winnings at a slot machine, and finds himself, unwillingly, in prostitution.

Director Grodecki maintains a consistent judgmental tone throughout the movie about what a terrible life these underage male prostitutes face. A life that denigrades into drugs, violence and AIDS (death). I assume some viewers will have enough after a few minutes since you get the point early and there's no redemption to the story. Those who stay to watch like me, will get the lessons of lives lost, how ineffective the cops are, and despite the fact Prague is supposed to be a beautiful city, that's it's an immoral city since the violence is so persuasive.

It's more of a documentary drama with actors who look like they live on the streets and are improvising the script. Although, the movie is well done and a respectable effort as shedding light on a social problem, it does so with a sledgehammer.
½ September 26, 2010
2 hours and 15 minutes of horribly depressing cinema. when a character says "let's add some sex to this cruxifiction!"...welp, that's basically sums it up.
½ April 2, 2010
Harrowing, strong, emotional, this is a tragic story with no happy ending. It pained me to see it due to its harsh reality that it is based on but it should be seen so people know how hard these kids have got it and the people who take advantage of them. Sad
January 24, 2010
Very dark tale of a young male-prostitute. This is no Hollywood-movie, often very dark and sad...
½ November 22, 2009
Fuerte, cruda, exagerada... para mi gusto es demasiado, drogas violencia y prostitución en extremo.... los que la quieren ver ya saben están avisados!
½ September 8, 2009
Documentary style film about hustlers in Prague.
½ June 24, 2009
mas historias de putitos decadentes
January 29, 2009
another film too difficult to rate, but filled with frightening and important ideas. The nightmarish lives of the characters show what depravity in society leads to; pornography and prostitution are issues that our society seems to quietly accept to the destruction of our collective societal soul and the loss of the unfortunates who don't see any recourse other than this sort of horrifying life on the streets.
January 13, 2009
Forget about cheerful fairytale Prague. Welcome to the sordid underworld of teenage male prostitution. The film is amateurish in parts, though it gets you hooked. Credit to the casting for finding the most vile and nasty-looking bad guys, and pretty gay boys, some too paedophiliacally young to be hustling, though that is probably the truth of it.. Quite a daring look at the subject in all its filth, ruin and exploitation.
December 17, 2008
very classic coming out tale
½ July 29, 2008
Many reviewers have commented on the incisive and realistic depiction this film offers on the harshness of street life and male prostitution. Be that as it may, I would not give a film a high rating because it is apparently 'authentic', 'challenging', 'different' and refuses to adopt a formulaic, Hollywood style narrative. This film is, quite frankly, a narrative disaster. The producers spend more time exhibiting sustained scenes of male pornography, rather than developing a storyline that will at least empathise with its audience. This excessiveness results in a feeling that everyone is trying too hard to get their point across. Often, the most powerful cinema is expressed through subtlety, metaphorical imagery, nuance and dialogue - see Bergman, Fellini, Pasolini, Truffaut. This film feels artificial despite the use of non-professional actors. The narrative pacing is atrocious. The film's original synopsis detailed Marek's father's frantic chase to hunt down his son, yet he is rarely seen.

This is the worst film I have ever seen and I don't say that lightly. An insult to Czech, and former Czechoslovakian cinema that has produced gems such as 'Closely Observed Trains'.
½ February 2, 2008
to call this a "gay" film is missing the point entirely...a believable intersection of horror and beauty, the post-communist society and the male side of the sex industry
January 27, 2008
very disturbing film of prostitution & drugs but very real
November 21, 2007
very tragic. movie that is often overlooked.
½ October 24, 2007
es buena, densa y triste
October 15, 2007
Not an easy subject and not your traditional Hollywood version. It shows what the street does to people. The kids become that which they hate in others.
½ September 29, 2007
Brutally realistic, good performances, and definitely a movie to keep in mind, not for the traditional stuff we look for in a movie, but for the cruel depressive lifestyle these poor boys live in.
Child/juvenile male prostitution is the hardest subjetc to digest when we talk bout' the rotten sides of society, in my opinion
August 27, 2007
most painful czech film ever
½ July 18, 2007
Boring, stupid plot devices, and annoying actors. Blarg.
Page 1 of 2